Two Tamil Nadu veterans Dinesh Karthik and R Ashwin will come face to face as Kolkata host Punjab. @AFP

Two Tamil Nadu veterans Dinesh Karthik and R Ashwin will come face to face as Kolkata host Punjab in match six of the Indian T20 League 2019 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Wednesday.

Both the teams have won their respective opening games Kolkata beating Hyderabad and Punjab defeating Rajasthan. However, the circumstances in which the results were achieved are drastically different. While Karthik and Co. won the opener after the Andre Russell blitz, Punjab s win came on the back of a controversial Mankading of Jos Buttler, executed by Ashwin. (ALSO READ: Ravi Ashwin mankads Jos Buttler during T20 League match: Twitter goes wild)

While Mankading debate will go on, with Ashwin facing a lot of heat from some of the former cricketers, Punjab will be keen to continue their winning run and seal the second successive win. (ALSO READ: Ashwin s actions represent him: Rajasthan coach Paddy Upton)

Kolkata though, playing the second home game, will be eager to get the better of Punjab and register their second win in a row this season.

What: Match 6, Kolkata vs Punjab

When: March 27 (Wednesday)

Where: Eden Gardens

Time: 8 pm (IST)

Weather: Sunny with a maximum high of 33 degrees Celsius

On TV: Star network (in India)

You can also follow LIVE coverage of the match on (Kolkata vs Punjab: SCORECARD)



Despite a win in the first game, Kolkata will like to get their fielding and bowling in top shape. They will also want Chris Lynn to come good and Sunil Narine to be fit, to bowl and to open the innings, scoring some quick runs at the top. Kolkata will also need to make sure that Kuldeep, who happens to be their premier bowler, completes his quota of overs. The left-arm chinaman bowled only two overs in the first over.

Probable XI: 1. Chris Lynn, 2. Robin Uthappa, 3. Nitish Rana, 4. Dinesh Karthik (captain and wicketkeeper) 5. Andre Russell, 6. Shubman Gill, 7. Sunil Narine, 8. Lockie Feguson, 9. Piyush Chawla, 10. Kuldeep Yadav, 11. Prasidh Krishna


With Chris Gayle coming good and Sarfaraz Khan scoring a quickfire 46 not out off 29 balls, Ashwin is unlikely to make any changes to his batting order which set up Punjab s win in the opening game against Rajasthan.

Mankading controversy aside, Punjab bowlers held their nerve in the death overs and considering they will now be up against a big-hitter like Russell, Ashwin will like his bowlers to have an encore.

Probable XI: 1. Chris Gayle, 2. KL Rahul, 3. Mayank Agarwal, 4. Sarfaraz Khan, 5. Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), 6. Mandeep Singh, 7. Sam Curran, 8. R Ashwin (captain), 9. Mohammad Shami, 10. Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 11. Ankit Rajpoot

Head to Head:

Total number of matches played: 23

Kolkata: 15

Punjab: 8

No Result: 0

Matches at Eden Gardens: 10

(Kolkata 7, Punjab 3)

Last five matches: Kolkata 3 – 2 Punjab