Having lost their respective opening games in the Indian T20 League 2019, Mumbai and Bangalore will be out to register their first win. @AFP/PTI

Having lost their respective opening games in the Indian T20 League 2019, Mumbai and Bangalore will be out to register their first win as they square off in the seventh match of the season at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Thursday.

While Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai franchise lost their first game against Delhi after Rishabh Pant s 27-ball 78-run blitz handed the hometeam a 37-run defeat, Virat Kohli and Co. lost the opening game of the season a ferociously-turning MA Chidambaram Stadium pitch against the defending champions Chennai unit. (ALSO READ: Indian T20 League: Chennai humble Bangalore in season opener by seven wickets)

Mumbai, who have won the tournament thrice, always have had their issues in the beginning of every season. Bangalore, meanwhile, have been the perennial under-achievers in the tournament.

What: Match 7, Bangalore vs Mumbai

When: March 28 (Thursday)

Where: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Time: 8 pm (IST)

Weather: Partly sunny with a maximum high of 36 degrees Celsius

On TV: Star network (in India)

You can also follow LIVE coverage of the match on CricketCountry.com (Bangalore vs Mumbai: SCORECARD)



While their batsmen, including the bigwigs Kohli and AB de Villiers, failed on a tricky Chepauk wicket, Bangalore can take some heart from the performances of their bowlers, who did not allow Chennai an easy win.

Kohli will want his bowlers Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Umesh Yadav, Moeen Ali and Mohammed Siraj to come good once again as his team eyes their first win of the season. However, the batsmen Shimron Hetmyer, Shivam Dube, Moeen and Colin de Grandhomme, along with Kohli and de Villiers, must step up.

Probable XI: 1. Parthiv Patel (wicketekeeper), 2. Virat Kohli (captain), 3. AB de Villiers, 4. Shimron Hetmyer, 5. Moeen Ali, 6. Colin de Grandhomme, 7. Shivam Dube, 8. Navdeep Saini, 9. Umesh Yadav, 10. Yuzvendra Chahal, 11. Mohammed Siraj/Pawan Negi


There is an uncertainty over Jasprit Bumrah s availability after he injured his shoulder in the first game against Delhi Capitals. (ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah does not bowl in Mumbai nets ahead of Bangalore game)

However, Mumbai will need to take care of their batting issues as well. While Yuvraj Singh scored a fifty, other Mumbai batsmen Rohit, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard failed to score big. Mumbai s bowlers too struggled, with all of them going for 10 or more runs/over. Mumbai, though, will be bolstered by the availability of Lasith Malinga and will hope that the Sri Lankan s return will change their fortunes.

Probable XI: 1. Rohit Sharma (captain), 2. Quintion de Kock (wicketkeeper), 3. Suryakumar Yadav, 4. Yuvraj Singh, 5. Hardik Pandya, 6. Krunal Pandya, 7. Kieron Pollard, 8. Ben Cutting, 9. Barinder Sran, 10. Rasikh Salam, 11. Lasith Malinga/ Mitchell McClenaghan

Head to Head:

Total number of matches played in IPL: 23

Bangalore: 09

Mumbai: 14

No Result: 0

Matches at M Chinnaswamy Stadium:

(Bangalore 2, Mumbai 7)

Last five matches: Bangalore 1 – 4 Mumbai