Manan Vohra © IANS (File Photo)
Manan Vohra © IANS (File Photo)

 

June 1, 2014

 

In the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 final played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab, Manan Vohra was declared as not out by the third umpire though, he was out of his crease and Robin Uthappa the wicketkeeper had stumped him. It led to a bit of a controversy in the eagerly awaited final.

 

Vohra escaped from getting out, as the rule book states that,

 

The wicketkeeper has to allow the ball to pass the stumps before taking the ball, unless it has touched either bat or batsman first. If the wicketkeeper doesn’t do this, the delivery is declared by the umpire as a ‘no ball’, and the batsman won’t be declared as  stumped.

 

It was a tight call in the sense that it wasn’t exactly clear whether the wicketkeeper had taken it in front of the stumps, but the benefit of doubt went in the batsman’s favour and Vohra survived. Before that controversy came about, Vohra was batting in good touch and looked set to take Punjab to a good total.

 

Follow Live Blog Here

 

Catch ball-by-ball commentary of the IPL 2014 final between KXIP and KKR here

 

Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage

 

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results