IPL: Chronological order of controversies since its inception

Rajasthan Royals were rocked by spot-fixing allegations in the current edition of the cash-rich tournament © PTI

New Delhi: May 16, 2013

Whether it’s the infamous ‘Slap-Gate’ or Lalit Modi‘s suspension, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been dogged by controversies since its inception in 2008.

The cash-rich league has an uncanny ability to remain in news for reasons which has no relation to cricketing activities.

A chronological look at controversies since 2008

IPL-I (2008):

Mumbai Indians’ stand-in captain Harbhajan Singh slaps Kings XI Punjab’s S Sreesanth after losing a match in Mohali.

A sobbing Sreesanth is caught on camera. After investigations, BCCI hands Harbhajan an 11-match suspension. Sreesanth rakes up the issue in the ongoing edition only to be reprimanded.

IPL-II (2009):

Shifted to South Africa due to general elections, the second edition is marred by allegations of Foreign Exchange violations. The Enforcement Directorate one year later issues ‘Red Corner’ in the name of former IPL commissioner Modi.

Kings XI co-owner Mohit Burman is beaten up by security guards on allegations of improper behaviour with a lady spectator, belonging to an influential industrialists’ family in South Africa.

Shah Rukh Khan and John Buchanan’s decision of ‘Multiple Captaincy’ creates rifts in KKR team with anonymous blogger ‘Fake IPl Player’ creating a flutter. Later the blogger reveals his identity and claims that everything in his blog was fictional.

IPL-III (2010)

The BCCI suspends Modi for misappropriation of funds.

Junior foreign minister Shashi Tharoor resigns from his post after investigations reveals his role in bringing Kochi Tuskers Kerala on board with his then girlfriend Sunanda Pushkar also involved in dealings.

IPL-IV (2011)

Before the start of tournament, Manish Pandey is banned by IPL Governing Council for four matches as he indulges in underhand dealings with franchises — he would have got a fixed sum being an uncapped domestic Indian player.

Post fourth edition, Kochi Tuskers Kerala are scrapped from the tournament, after they fail to pay the franchise fees. There were discrepancies found out in their ownership patterns.

IPL V (2012)

Before the scheduled auctions, Pune Warriors threatens to pull-out of IPL as BCCI doesn’t pay heed to their request for an additional foreign player as well as reducing the fee which would have been for 74 matches instead of 94. Their requests for ‘Open Auction’ with no player retention is also rejected.

During IPL, RCB cricketer Luke Pomersbach arrested by police for harrassing NRI woman Zohal Hameed and bashing up his boyfriend. Dispute settled out of court.

Life ban on Deccan Chargers pacer T P Sudhindra after being caught in a sting operation agreeing to spot-fix matches. Veteran UP pacer Shalabh Srivastava handed five year ban on being caught agreeing to fix matches. Mohnish Mishra, Amit Yadav and Abhinav Bali receive one-year bans for unsubstantiated bragging.

Pune players Rahul Sharma and Wayne Parnell caught in a rave party in Mumbai.

Deccan Chargers scrapped from IPL after they fail to pay up franchisee fee to the BCCI.

IPL VI (2013)

Delhi Police’s Special Cell arrests India pacer S Sreesanth, domestic players Ajit Chandila and Ankit Chavan who have allegedly spot-fixed three of Rajasthan Royals’ matches in the current edition of IPL. The trio brought to Delhi and in Police custody.

Read more stories on IPL 2013 spot-fixing controversy

Catch live updates of IPL 2013 spot-fixing controversy here