Ravindra Jadeja (left) and Ravichandran Ashwin    AFP (file photo)
Ravindra Jadeja (left) and Ravichandran Ashwin AFP (file photo)

New Delhi: Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been named as replacement for the injured Ravindra Jadeja in the Rest of India squad which takes on Ranji Trophy champions Vidarbha in the Irani Cup to be held in Nagpur from March 14-18. “Mr. Jadeja suffered a side strain and has been adviced rest,” said the BCCI in a statement.

Ashwin had missed the recently concluded Deodhar Trophy as he was adviced a week’s rest. “He has now recovered and is declared fit to play,” the statement added. Both Ashwin and Jadeja remain an integral part of the Indian Test team but have lost their limited overs spot to Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

The revised squad is as below:


Sr No. Rest of India
1 Karun Nair (Captain)
2 Prithvi Shaw
3 Abhimanyu Easwaran
4 R Samarth
5 Mayank Agarwal
6 Hanuma Vihari
7 KS Bharat (WK)
8 R Ashwin
9 Jayant Yadav
10 Shahbaz Nadeem
11 Anmolpreet Singh
12 Siddarth Kaul
13 Ankit Rajpoot
14 Navdeep Saini
15 Atit Sheth