Jay Bista scored double century in U-23 CK Nayudu Trophy © Twitter
Jay Bista scored double century in U-23 CK Nayudu Trophy © Twitter

Mumbai: Newly crowned Ranji Trophy 2015-16 champions Mumbai today added opener Jay Bista to their victorious squad for the five-day Irani Cup game against the Rest of India, commencing at the Brabourne Stadium here on March 6. Bista, who lost his place after a twin failure against Jharkhand in the Ranji quarter final at Mysuru, was made the 16th member of the squad following his double century for the victorious Mumbai under 23 team in the C K Nayudu final against Madhya Pradesh at Indore. Welcoming his addition to the squad, Mumbai Ranji coach Chandrakant Pandit told reporters, “He deserved to get back into the team. He scored a century (in the U 23 tournament) immediately after being left out of the squad and scored a double century in the final.” READ: Sachin Tendulkar: Winning Ranji Trophy without Rohit, Rahane shows Mumbai’s

Also in the squad is pace bowler Dhawal Kulkarni, who got married here yesterday and has decided to play in the game. Mumbai, who grabbed their 41st Ranji title by defeating Saurashtra in the summit clash last week in Pune, have won the Irani crown for the 15th and last time in 1997-98, a point that was mentioned by Pandit. “Irani Trophy has always been taken seriously. Fifteen times Mumbai have won the title but had not been able to achieve that from 1997-98. That’s what we talked about this morning. “The selectors are going to watch. Whatever they had done throughout the season, this is another opportunity. READ: Siddhesh Lad, Balwinder Sandhu record highest 10th wicket partnership for Mumbai

Anyone doing well here will be in the reckoning or will be playing for India,” said Pandit.

Irani Cup squads:

Mumbai: Aditya Tare (c), Abhishek Nayar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Akhil Herwadkar, Siddhesh Lad, Sufiyan Shaikh, Nikhil Patil (Jr.), Iqbal Abdullah, Shardul Thakur, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr.), Badre Alam, Bhavin Thakkar, Vishal Dabholkar, Jay Bista.

Rest of India: K S Bharat, Faiz Fazal, Karun Nair, Sheldon Jackson, Naman Ojha (c), Stuart Binny, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Nathu Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Barinder Sran, Krishna Das, Sudeep Chatterjee, Ian Dev Singh, Akshay Wakhare.