Ireland will be captained by © AFP

Jan 5, 2015

Ireland on Monday, named their 15-member squad for ICC World Cup 2015 which is scheduled to be played at Australia and New Zealand. The team will be led by William Porterfield. This Irish team will play a tri-series in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) against Afghanistan and Scotland in this month and after that the team will depart for Australia, the official website of Cricket Ireland reported.

Ireland will play their official warm-up matches against Scotland and Bangladesh, before flying to New Zealand to face West Indies in their opening game in Hamilton on February 16. In their final squad captain Porterfield is one of five players who will be participating in their third World Cup, along with the O’Brien brothers, Ed Joyce, and John Mooney.

Ireland 15-member Squad:

William Porterfield (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien (wk), Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.