Gary Wilson India Ireland 2018 Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma
Gary Wilson will lead Ireland against India © Getty Images

Ireland have announced a 14-man squad for their two T20 Internationals against India, on June 27 and 29, at Malahide Cricket Club Dublin, venue of their maiden Test against Pakistan. The newly appointed Gary Wilson had led Ireland in the recently concluded triangular tournament in Netherlands, and will continue to lead them. Simi Singh, who impressed all in the same tournament, will feature as well. There are no major surprises in the team.

Andrew White, Chairman of National Men’s Selectors for Cricket Ireland, said: “The selectors have chosen what we believe to be a strong, in-form squad for this format of the game that balances experience with youth. Our deliberations were around finding a side that was competitive now, but with an eye to the future.

“Many in the squad will be either travelling to Sussex this weekend for the Ed Joyce Testimonial match on Sunday, or will be re-joining the senior squad from their English County sides. We had a good look at a number of players on the recent Tri-Series in the Netherlands and this weekend’s match in Sussex will firm up the decisions made on the final playing eleven for the first fixture on Wednesday.

“We will continue our approach of providing opportunities for a wider pool of players to gain experience in T20 cricket on the international stage. With around 12 months to go to the World T20 Cup qualifiers, we are looking to build a competitive squad for that qualification stage and hopefully to propel us into the main tournament in 2020.”

The fixtures against India were hugely anticipated since Cricket Ireland had announced in January. The second T20I, being on a Friday, has already been sold out, and a capacity crowd (in excess of 8,000) is expected of the first match as well.

(with inputs from Cricket Ireland)

Ireland squad for India T20Is: Gary Wilson (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, James Shannon, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson.