Buchi Babu tournament has reached its semi-final stage    Getty Images (Representational Image)
Buchi Babu tournament has reached its semi-final stage Getty Images (Representational Image)

Chennai: An unbeaten century by J Kousik, batting at No.7 and his 104-run partnership with M Mohammed helped TNCA Districts XI post a one-wicket win over Saurashtra and also qualify for the semifinals of the Kalpathi AGS – Buchi Babu All-India invitation cricket tournament today. Chasing 297 for victory, Districts XI seemed to be in a spot of trouble before Kousik’s superb knock which included eight boundaries and four sixers and Mohammed put on a century partnership for the ninth wicket to secure a win.

The Districts XI would meet TNCA President’s XI in the semifinal after the latter beat Assam by six wickets thanks to opener L Suryapprakash’s unbeaten 66 and a fifty by R Rohith. The semifinals will be played on September 11 and 12. Hyderabad advanced by smothering the challenge of the third Tamil Nadu outfit in the fray – TNCA XI by 88 runs at SRMC (Turf) grounds with left-arm spinner Mehdi Hasan taking five wickets, conceding 78 runs.

TNCA XI had required to achieve the target of 355 in 75.3 overs but the home side was bowled out for 266 in 75.4 overs. In an inconsequential game in Group “D”, Mumbai pipped Chhattisgarh by two wickets, riding on tons by Vaidimurkar and southpaw Shivam Dubey. Uttar Pradesh qualified for the last four from this group by winning both its game.

Semifinal line-up: TNCA President’s XI vs TNCA Districts XI (at SSN College Ground); Hyderabad vs UPCA (at MRF-Pachaiyappa s College A Ground).

Brief scores: Assam 176 in 61.5 overs lost to TNCA President s XI 177 for four in 52.5 overs (L Suryapprakash 66 not out (137b, 5×4, 1×6), R Rohith 55 (119b, 7×4). Points: TNCA President s XI 4 (8); Assam (0).

Saurashtra 296 in 89.2 overs lost to TNCA Districts XI 297 for 9 in 87.3 overs (N S Chaturved 33, Anand Subramanian 25, J Kousik 104 not out (132b, 8×4, 4×6), M Mohammed 46 (96b, 7×4), Jay Chauhan 4 for 82, Dharmendra Jadeja 3 for 69, Shaurya Sanandiya 2 for 43). Points: Districts XI 4 (8); Saurashtra 0 (0).

Hyderabad 354 for 9 in 90 overs beat TNCA XI 266 in 75.4 overs (K Bharath Shankar 27, K Mukunth 44, B Anirudh Sita Ram 26, V Yo Mahesh 64 (103b, 8×4), S Kishan Kumar 30, M Raja 32 not out, Mehdi Hasan 5 for 78, Amol Shinde 4 for 56). Points: Hyderabad 4 (8); TNCA XI 0 (0).

Chhattisgarh 350 for 8 in 90 overs lost to Mumbai 351 for 8 in 75.3 overs (Jay Bista 31, Ashaysar Desai 28, Vaidikmurkar 104 (160b, 14×4, 1×6), Shivam Dubey 121 (81b, 8×4, 11×6), Sumit Ruikar 3 for 84, Shubham Agrawal 2 for 86).

Points: Mumbai 4 (4); Chhattisgarh 0 (0).