Jayasuriya shines, Ranatunga gives a miss to SL speaker's match

Sanath Jayasuriya retired from international cricket in June 2011 © Getty Images


Colombo: Dec 11, 2011


Sri Lankan Members of Parliament, who only last month exchanged physical blows in the House, enjoyed themselves in a friendly cricket fixture.


A joint team of government and opposition parliamentarians beat the Ministers’ XI in the inaugural Speaker’s Cup T20 cricket match.


The parliamentarians, led by former national captain Sanath Jayasuriya, defeated the ministers’ team, led by Susil Premajayantha, the minister of petroleum in the soft ball encounter.


Jayasuriya, a ruling party MP, top-scored for his team while his left-arm spin accounted for three wickets.


However, Harsha de Silva, an opposition MP, and Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, a fellow opposition MP, were adjudged the best bowler and batsman respectively.


Arjuna Ranatunga, a parliamentarian from the opposition Democratic National Alliance, was conspicuous by his absence as the party was said to have decided against taking part in the match.(PTI)