Jonathan Trott ruled out of final ODI against South Africa

Jonathan Trott took a blow to his right hand from Dale Steyn early in his innings of 48 during Sunday’s six-wicket victory at Lord’s Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

London: Sep 5, 2012

England batsman Jonathan Trott on Wednesday, was ruled out of the final ODI against South Africa due to a hand injury sustained in the previous one-day international at Lord s.

Jonathan Trott took a blow to his right hand from Dale Steyn early in his innings of 48 during Sunday’s six-wicket victory at Lord’s.

The right-handed Trott suffered the injury from a ball bowled by Dale Steyn towards the beginning of his 48 in Sunday s six-wicket win that put the hosts 2-1 up.

The England number three batsman was already a doubt for the game despite the favourable result of an x-ray on his injured right hand yesterday – when Jos Buttler was called up as cover.

According to ECB website, wicketkeeper-batsman Craig Kieswetter spoke to the media before Trott was ruled out and was open to that eventuality moving him from the number six spot he has occupied of late.