Karn Sharma claimed 8 wickets in the match    Getty Images
Karn Sharma claimed 8 wickets in the match Getty Images

Trailing by 132 runs on Day Four, New Zealand A had a solid stand courtesy Jeet Raval and Henry Nicholls. The pair snitched up a 105-run partnership that kept New Zealand A in hopes of a draw. But once against they were outfoxed by the spin duo of Karn Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem. The pair claimed 9 of the 10 wickets in the second innings to hand India A an innings and 26 run win, whitewashing the 2 unofficial Test series.

Nadeem orchestrated New Zealand’s A collapse getting Raval leg-before for 47. Karn soon joined in the party picking Will Young, Colin Munro in quick successions. With half their side back in the pavilion, Nicholls fell for a valiant 190-ball 94. He was dismissed by Karn. Nadeem came back and outfoxed the likes of Tim Louis Seifert and Scott Kuggeleijn for 9 and 7 respectively.

Karn slammed the final nail in the coffin by getting the wickets of Lockie Ferguson and Ish Sodhi. His innings tally read 5 for 78, while match figures stand at 8 for 127. The only wicket to the pace-man fell to Shardul Thakur, who claimed Tim Bruce.

In the first innings, New Zealand A were outmatched by the likes of Karn, Shahbaz and Shardul who shared 8 wickets in between to fold for 211. In reply, India A were helped by fifties by Shreyas Iyer, Parthiv Patel and a century from Ankit Bawne, that saw them post 477.

India A had won the first unofficial four-day Test by an innings and 31 runs at Vijaywada.

Brief scores:

New Zealand A 211 & 210 (Henry Nicholls 94, Jeet Raval 47; Karn Sharma 5 for 78) lost to India A 477 (Ankit Bawne 162*, Shreyas Iyer 82; Seth Rance 2 for 28) by an innings and 26 runs.