Vinay Kumar (left) and Mominul Haque will led their teams in a 3-day game at Mysore © Getty Images
Vinay Kumar (left) has pulled out and will not lead Karnataka, though Mominul Haque will led his team © Getty Images

After the losing the three-match unofficial One-Day International (ODI) series against India A, the touring Bangladesh A will hope that the change of formats also results in change of fortunes for them, as they have not had the best of the tour. In all the three games, they had their moments but failed to capitalise on them and make an impact. The only game they won was due to a brilliant all-round performance from Nasir Hossain who first scored a brilliant ton and then followed it up with a rare five-wicket haul. India A though won the last one-dayer and sealed the series with a dominant performance. Bangladesh A know their task will only get tougher against a strong Karnataka side at Mysore. Read: Suresh Raina, Sreenath Aravind shine as India A beat Bangladesh A by 75 runs to win series 2-1

Karnataka also called as Mysore were the team to beat in the 2014-15 domestic season for India. Karnataka were supposed to be led by Vinay Kumar, but he has pulled out of the game along with Mayank Agarwal. Karnataka backed up their Ranji Trophy title by winning the Irani Cup earlier in March. They have clicked as a unit and it will be the aspect they will look to build on during the three-day game against Bangladesh A. The players will come together after the completion of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015, which  the Bijapur Bulls won the title by beating the Hubli Tigers. 

Most of the players playing the three-day game were involved in the league and did reasonably well. Robin Uthappa will continue to be the mainstay for the team and CM Gautam will lead the side, and the team will want him to lead Karnataka well. Read: Ranji Trophy 2014-15 final: Vinay Kumar emulates Vijay Hazare on the legend’s Birth Centenary

Bangladesh A will have their work cut out against the Ranji champions. Mominul Haque has not been among the runs and will want the internationals in Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar and Hossain raise their game trying to combat the Karnataka bowling who will hope Shreyas Gopal can emulate the success of Karn Sharma and Kuldeep Yadav in the one-dayers against Bangladesh A. Bangladesh A’s bowling attack will be lead by Rubel Hossain after Taskin Ahmed had to return home due to injury. They might look to play Shuvagata Hom and Arafat Sunny to back the three pronged pace attack comprising of Rubel, Shafiul Islam and Al-Amin Hossain. Karnataka will go in as favourites but Bangladesh A will hope that they can spur a few surprises in their penultimate game of the tour.


Karnataka: CM Gautam (c & wk), Shishir Bhavane, Shreyas Gopal, Mitrakanth Yadav, Udit Patel, Abhishek Reddy, HS Sharath, Robin Uthappa, David Mathias, Dega Nischal, Prasidh Krishna, Ravikumar Samarth, Jagadeesha Suchith.

Bangladesh A: Rony Talukdar, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Litton Kumar Das, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Nasir Hossain, Mominul Haque (c), Arafat Sunny, Saqlain Sajib, Shuvagata Hom, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Jubair Hossain Likhon.

Time: 10.00 local

(Nikhil Popat is a diehard cricket enthusiast and a PotterHead till the end of time. He can be followed on Twitter @CricCrazyNIKS)