England announce squad for ODI series against India

Kevin Pietersen, who had earlier announced retirement from limited-overs cricket, is set to return to the England ODI team Getty Images

London: Nov 28, 2012

England Cricket Board (ECB) on Wednesday has announced the squad for the One-Day International series against India. Alastair Cook is set to lead the English side.

They will also have the services of controversial batsman Kevin Pietersen who is set to make a comeback to limited-overs cricket after being ignored by the selectors following the text-message controversy earlier in the year. Pietersen had announced retirement from limited-overs cricket earlier in the year.

James Anderson will be in the squad for the warm-up fixtures and first three ODI matches only. He will be replaced by Stuart Broad for the remainder for the five-match series.


Alastair Cook (C), Briggs, Jonathan Bairstow, Ian Bell, James Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, James Anderson, Stuart Broad