Ajinkya Rahane © IANS
Ajinkya Rahane © IANS (File Photo)


May 15, 2014


In the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 game played between Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals, Rajasthan made a fine start. It was Karun Nair who showed his class  by essaying fine shots. However, he lost his wicket to Shahbaz Nadeem the slow left arm orthodox. Ajinkya Rahane at the other end, played with a clam head on his shoulders. Once Nair got out, Kevon Cooper, the all-rounder was sent up the order. Cooper played a few bold shots. But also was lucky in the sense that he got an outside off Imran Tahir’s bowling only for it to race to the boundary boards. However, in an attempt to smash JP Duminy he was caught in the deep by pacer, Rahul  Shukla. He scored 32 off just 16 balls. Samson though showed his class by smashing Manoj Tiwary for six.


Delhi’s bowlers generally were inconsistent. They struggled to get their lines and lengths most of the time. Earlier, the second over was bowled by Shukla and two back-to-back boundaries followed. First, the bowlerd sprayed a bad delivery down the leg side, which clipped Rahane’s pads and raced to the fine leg boundary. The second ball was again drifting down the leg side and Rahane eased into the shot, playing a well controlled flick and the crowd was in raptures. The last ball of the over was over-pitched and Rahane played a majestic front-foot drive for another boundary.


Delhi Daredevils won the toss and skipper Kevin Pietersen elected to field against Rajasthan Royals. To everyone’s surprise, Shane Watson sat out due to injury and Steven Smith was handed over the captaincy for the home side. The Ahmedabad weather though has played spoilsport and the covers were on and as a result, the play had a delayed start.


Catch live ball-by-ball updates of Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2014


Catch Live Updates of the Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2014 match here


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage