Shaiful Islam’s bowling while Mahmudullah and Riki Wessels’ batting secured easy win for their side Getty Images

In Match 20, Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, Khulna Titans (KT) beat Barisal Bulls (BB) by .. runs to gain two vital points, halfway in the group stages. KT batted first and posted 151 for 7 on board and defended it swiftly as BB lost wickets at vital junctions. With adequate amount of dew on the field, KT still got the better of BB as the losing side have only themselves to blame for this loss. KT are now the new table-toppers with 10 points, replacing Shakib Al Hasan’s Dhaka Dynamites (DD). Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Points table and team standings

Winning the toss, BB opted to bowl keeping in mind that dew will have a vital role to play in the outcome of the match. Mushfiqur Rahim’s side had their tail up removing KT’s openers before Mahmudullah started the onslaught from his end. At halfway stage, KT were 67 for 2 with Riki Wessels giving company to Mahmudullah. Mahmudullah, however, departed for a well made 44 off 26 balls as KT again started to crumble after his exit. Taijul Islam had a good outing with the ball as he restricted the run flow from KT’s batsmen along with Thisara Perera and Rayad Emrit chipping in.

Nonetheless, Wessels’ 40 and a brief cameo from Ariful Haque propelled KT’s score above 150. In reply, BB got starts from Jeevan Mendis, Shamsur Rahman, Shahriar Nafees and skipper Rahim but no one stood till the end. The talking point of KT’s win was their sharp bowling as they did not give any easy runs and mounted pressure on BB. Shaiful Islam got a three-for while Mohreef Hossain and Junaid Khan chipped in with two vital wickets. Wickets tumbled at crucial junctures as BB found them .. runs short.

With this win, KT move to the top spot with 10 points. They have 5 wins from six games while BB have won and lost 3 each so far.

Brief scores:

Khulna Titans 151 for 7 in 20 overs (Riki Wessels 40,Mahmudullah 44; Taijul Islam 3 for 18) beat Barisal Bulls 129 all-out in 19.3 overs (Mushfiqur Rahim 35, Shahriar Nafees 28, Shaiful Islam 4 for 17) by 22 runs.