Khulna Titans will be favourites against Barisal Bulls who shouldn't be taken lightly too    Getty Images
Khulna Titans will be favourites against Barisal Bulls who shouldn’t be taken lightly too Getty Images

A crunch contest awaits the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016 as third and fourth placed teams, Khulna Titans (KT) and Barisal Bulls (BB) meet in the only game of November 20. This will be Match 20 of the fourth edition of BPL where BB lock horns with KT in the group stage. The match will be played at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong. KT have so far been beaten only once, playing five matches and winning four. On the other hand, BB have been a little shaky, winning three and two games. Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim’s side will, thus, clash in an important match with lots at stake. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Schedule and Time Table

In their previous fixture, KT got the better of table-toppers, Dhaka Dynamites (DD) after posting 157. KT were up for the challenge with a modest total on board against Shakib Al Hasan’s side and won the game by .. runs. They will feel confident going into the next encounter against Rahim’s BB. KT have an edge as they are not only at 8 points but have emerged champions in close finishes. Another win and they will come on top of the points table and will be itching to be that against BB.

Unlike KT, BB have not enjoyed an easy ride in this year’s edition. They won Comilla Victorains (CV), Rajshahi KIngs (RK) and Chittagong Vikings (CHV) but lost against DD and Rangpur Riders. They have been a touch inconsistent with either bat and ball and will have to bounce back before they get on a rough patch. This is a key moment of the group stages with lots of changes happening in the points table with every second match and BB will be wary of this.

A big clash will be the death over bowling of the KT vs the depth in batting of BB. In the brief period, Mahmudullah s last over spell has already become famous for all the right reasons while the opponents have slog hitters especially in form of Rahim and Thisara Perera down the order to combat that. Overall, an enticing encounter awaits the cricket fanatics of Bangladesh come Sunday evening.

Time: 17.15 local | 5.30 IST


Khulna Titans: Mahmudullah(c), Abdul Majid, Alok Kapali, Ariful Haque, Kevon Cooper, Andre Fletcher, Hasanuzzaman, Benny Howell, Junaid Khan, Ben Laughlin, Mohammad Asghar, Mosharraf Hossain, Naeem Islam jnr, Noor Hossain, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom, Lendl Simmons, Taibur Rahman, Riki Wessels

Barisal Bulls: Abu Hider Rony, Al-Amin Hossain, Carlos Brathwaite, Joshua Cobb, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Nawaz, Monir Hossain, Dilshan Munaweera, Mushfiqur Rahim (c & wk), Nadif Chowdhury, Rumman Raees, Shahriar Nafees, Shamsur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Thisara Perera