Shahid Afridi is the captain for the Rangpur Raiders    Getty Images
Shahid Afridi is the captain for the Rangpur Riders Getty Images

Khulna Titans will cross swords with Rangpur Riders in what will the match No. 23 of the highly anticipated Bangladesh Premier League 2016-17 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong. The Mahmudullah lead Khulna Titans are currently sitting at the top of the BPL 2016-17 table while their today s opponents, the Rangpur Riders lead by Shahid Afridi are at No. 3 position. The Titans have played 6 matches and have lost just one while winning the rest 5. It is due to their impressive record that they are sitting atop the table with 10 points.

On the other hand, the Afridi-led team has played one match lesser than their today s opposition i.e 5 matches and have lost one while won the rest four and have accumulated 8 points in total as of now. The last time these two teams met was in the match No. 5 on November 10, when Khulna Titans were completely opened up by the Riders as they were bowled out for just 44 runs in 10.4 overs. Riders skipper Afridi and spinner Arafat Sunny turned the tables upside down as they both took total 7 wickets together. Afridi was adjudged Man of the Match as he finished with the figures of 4 for 12 runs in 4 overs while Sunny finished with outstanding figures of scalping 3 wickets and giving out zero runs in his spell of 2.4 overs. The Riders won the match comprehensively with 9 wickets in hand.

Having lost their only match in the tournament and that too against their today s opponents, the table topper Titans will want to win today s fixture and set things right for them, whereas, the Riders would be hoping to review the same performance yet once again to take the pole position with a win today.

The toss will be crucial for today s match as the wicket seems to be conducive for batting and it is highly speculated that the team winning the toss will be opting to bat first and put up a good score to defend in the second innings.

Khulna Titans : Mahmudullah (c), Alok Kapali, Ariful Haque, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Kevon Cooper, Andre Fletcher, Hasanuzzaman, Benny Howell, Junaid Khan, Ben Laughlin, Mohammad Asghar, Mosharraf Hossain, Naeem Islam jnr, Noor Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom, Lendl Simmons, Riki Wessels, Taibur Rahman, Abdul Halim, Abu Sayeem, Abdul Mazid, Nur Alam

Rangpur Riders : Elias Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Richard Gleeson, Naeem Islam, Mehrab Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Muktar Ali, Nasir Jamshed, Pinak Ghosh, Gidron Pope, Gihan Rupasinghe, Sachithra Senanayake, Shahbaz Chouhan, Shahid Afridi (c), Sohag Gazi, Soumya Sarkar, Ziaur Rahman, Liam Dawson, Jupiter Ghosh, Anwar Ali