Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will host Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Match 47 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 at Mohali on Sunday. KXIP have recently started faring well after Murali Vijay took over as captain. They nearly beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), falling short by just 1 run, but followed it up with a victory over Mumbai Indians (MI). KXIP are still in with a mathematical chance of making it to the IPL 9 playoffs, but it will take a small miracle for them to get there. Live Cricket Scorecard: Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2016 Match 47 at Mohali

On the other hand, SRH are a win away from securing a spot in the playoffs, and they will not want to waste any time in reaching the landmark. SRH have been excellent this season, with the pace trio of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, and especially Mustafizur Rahman performing admirably. David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan have led the way with the bat, while the all-rounders Yuvraj Singh and Moises Henriques have performed their roles with distinction.

If there is a cause of concern for SRH it has been Kane Williamson at No. 3, who has not looked nearly as fluent as usual. With Eoin Morgan waiting in the wings Williamson’s days could be numbered. He will want to get a substantial score in the lead-up to the playoff stage to calm his nerves and those of the SRH management.

Meanwhile, KXIP too have headaches. While Sandeep Sharma and Mohit Sharma have been excellent, Akshar Patel has looked a bit inconsistent. Marcus Stoinis destroyed Mumbai Indians (MI) with a spell of 4 for 15, but his bowling has not been bankable for the most part. Hashim Amla has had 3 lean outings, while both David Miller and Glenn Maxwell have been a far cry from their usual selves. Miller’s stint as captain did nothing to improve his performances. While Maxwell has shown signs of form, he has been unable to capture the imagination of all and sundry as he had in IPL 2014.

SRH ought to win the match easily given current form, but the match is not likely to be as straightforward as some of the other contests. KXIP have everything on the line; a win here will keep them in with a chance, while a win for SRH will take them to the playoffs. The match is too close to call, but SRH certainly hold the advantage.


Kings XI Punjab: Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, David Miller (c), Manan Vohra, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Johnson, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Kyle Abbott, KC Cariappa, Marcus Stoinis, Farhaan Behardien, Pradeep Sahu, Armaan Jaffer, Swapnil Singh.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Ashish Reddy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Bipul Sharma, Karn Sharma, KL Rahul, Naman Ojha (wk), Parvez Rasool, Ricky Bhui, Shikhar Dhawan, Siddharth Kaul, David Warner (c), Moises Henriques, Eoin Morgan, Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Deepak Hooda, Mustafizur Rahman, Aditya Tare (wk), Barinder Sran, Ben Cutting, Vijay Shankar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Tirumalasetti Suman.

Time: 20:00 IST | 14:30 GMT

(Shiamak Unwalla, a reporter with CricketCountry, is an animal lover and comic, film and TV geek. A fast bowler at heart, he enjoys watching a good, low-scoring game of cricket. His Twitter handle is @ShiamakUnwalla)