Kings XI Punjab win toss, asks Pune Warriors India to bat first in IPL 2012 match

Kings XI Punjab will need to watch out for the likes of Ashok Dinda (c), who shaped Pune Warriors India’s win with his four-wicket haul in the first match PTI

By CricketCountry Staff

Mohali: Apr 12, 2012

King XI Punjab (KXIP) skipper Adam Gilchrist won the toss and put Pune Warriors India (PWI) into bat in their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 match at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Chandigarh on Thursday.

Kings XI Punjab would look to get over the disappointment of back-to-back losses and make a winning start on home turf this IPL season when they take on Pune Warriors on Thursday, aiming to extract revenge on the visitors for defeat in their previous match.

This year and in some previous seasons as well, the Punjab side has failed to gain the initial momentum resulting in them not being able to go too far in the event, barring in the first season when, under Yuvraj Singh, they had reached the semifinals.


KXIP: Adam Gilchrist (wk & c), Paul Valthaty, David Hussey, Shaun Marsh, Mandeep Singh, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Parvinder Awana, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Harmeet Singh, Praveen Kumar

PWI: Jesse Ryder, Sourav Ganguly (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Mithun Manhas, Angelo Mathews, Marlon Samuels, Manish Pandey, Steven Smith, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Ashish Nehra

Catch Live Score and ball-by-ball commentary of KXIP vs PWI IPL 2012 clash here