Kings XI Punjab win toss, elect to bat against Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2012

Sunil Narine impressed all with his five-wicket haul against Kings XI Punjab in their last clash and it will be interesting to watch how he is treated by the home side batsmen on Wednesday AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Mohali: Apr 18, 2012

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) won the toss and opted to bat against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 match at Mohali on Wednesday.

Having beaten the same opponents at their home bastion, though with a narrow two-run margin, KXIP would start tomorrow’s match at the PCA Stadium with more confidence while the Knight Riders would look to make it even score.

Both sides have some things in common as each had to taste two losses in as many games at the beginning before bouncing back.

Like Kings XI (four points from four matches), the Knight Riders (four points from five matches) went on to win the next two games before losing their fifth game.

Another thing the two teams share is the inconsistent form of their top-order batsmen. That includes Kings XI skipper Adam Gilchrist, who made five in the previous match, and is yet to hit a big knock.

His Australian compatriot Shaun Marsh also disappointed in the match against KKR, making just one run. The batting hero of last year’s edition Paul Valthaty has failed to impress so far and did not play the last match.


KXIP:: Adam Gilchrist (c & wk), Paras Dogra, David Hussey, Shaun Marsh, Paul Valthaty, Mandeep Singh, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Bhargav Bhatt, Piyush Chawla, Harmeet Singh, Praveen Kumar.

KKR: Brendon McCullum, Jacques Kallis, Manvinder Bisla (wk), Gautam Gambhir (c), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Sunil Narine, Jaidev Unakdat, Brett Lee.

Catch Live Score and ball-by-ball commentary of KXIP vs KKR IPL 2012 clash here