Kings Xl Punjab squad 2012: IPL team details with player names

Under Adam Gilchrist, KXIP will look to change their fortunes and aim to go all the way this time around AFP

Indian Premier League (IPL) Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) is a franchise based in Mohali, Punjab owned by Bollywood star Preity Zinta, Karan Paul (Apeejay Surendera Group) and Mohit Burman (Dabur). The group paid a total of $76 million to acquire the franchise. It is currently captained by former Australian wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist.

The team plays its home matches at the PCA Stadium, Mohali. Since 2010 IPL, it has been playing some of the home games at Dharamsala.

KXlP boasts of enormous potential, shining in patches, but fail to gather their act in crucial games. In the first season, they stormed into the semis at the back of strong performances, but were beaten comprehensively by Chennai. In the 2009 and 2011 seasons, they lost their last league game to miss out on qualification.

Under Gilchrist, the team blended into a competitive unit and challenged the best during the previous season. It is time they change their fortunes and aim to go all the way this time around.


Adam Gilchrist (c), Rajagopal Sathish, Love Ablish, Amit Yadav, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Siddharth Chitnis, Paras Dogra, Ryan Harris, David Hussey, Dinesh Karthik, Praveen Kumar, Vikramjeet Malik, Mandeep Singh, Shaun Marsh, Abhishek Nayar, Nathan Rimmington, Nitin Saini, Shalabh Srivastava, Sunny Singh, Paul Valthaty, Stuart Broad, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Ramesh Powar, Harmeet Singh, Parvinder Awana, Azhar Mahmood, Vipul Sharma, James Faulkner, David Miller

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 will be played at 12 venues over 54 days in India. Starting from April 4, 2012 to May 27, 2012 there will be 72 matches in the fifth season of IPL. The preliminary schedule has the nine franchises (teams) playing in this fifth edition.

IPL 2012 Schedule

Click here for all the news related to Kings Xl Punjab