KKR vs CSK in CLT20 2014: Spinners stifle batsmen after good start


Sep 17, 2014

Brendon McCullum ensures positive start for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the first Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 match of the main round.

Sunil Narine came on to restrict CSK after they galloped to a good start and succeeded in doing so, conceding just three runs off the over. Piyush Chawla continued, having just picked up the wicket of Dwayne Smith. New man Suresh Raina was able to get a boundary down the ground, but Chawla continued his good spell.

Earlier, Pat Cummins bowled at good pace, but both batsmen continued on their way for CSK, flaying anything remotely short or wide for boundaries. McCullum especially was looking in sizzling touch. With the first three overs costing KKR 27 runs, Gautam Gambhir called upon Piyush Chawla.

Smith greeted Chawla with a boundary straight back past the bowler which nearly took the umpire’s head off. He followed up by smacking Chawla down the ground again for another four before taking a single. Chawla soon had his revenge though, getting Smith to edge behind to Manvinder Bisla.

Smith and McCullum opened the innings for CSK as usual, while Pat Cummins started proceedings for KKR. He induced an outside edge from Smith only to see it snaffled by Yusuf Pathan at slip. CSK hadn’t scored a run at that point. Brendon McCullum then proceeded to hit the final ball of the over for a boundary through covers. Umesh Yadav was clubbed away for four over midwicket by Smith off his very first delivery. It was a short ball on off-stump, and Smith made the most of the gift after being dropped.

KKR won the toss and elected to field first. Robin Uthappa and Jacques Kallis missed the game due to minor niggles, but are expected back for the next few games. For CSK, Dwayne Bravo made his come-back after missing much of IPL 2014 to injury.

Catch live blog of the KKR vs CSK match here

Catch ball-by-ball updates and live scorecard here

Complete coverage of Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 here