Rohit Sharma © PTI (File Photo)
Rohit Sharma © PTI (File Photo)


By Nishad Pai Vaidya


May 14, 2014


Mumbai Indians scored 141 for five against the Kolkata Knight Riders in their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 game at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack. Rohit Sharma was the top scorer for Mumbai as they were up against an inspired Kolkata bowling attack that did not give much away.


The Barabati Stadium had a new look with Kolkata taking over the reins as the home side. In that setting, Gautam Gambhir won the toss and chose to bowl first. While Mumbai were unchanged in this contest, Kolkata made one alteration with Jacques Kallis making way for Shakib Al Hasan.


Mumbai simply couldn’t get going in their early overs. They lost their openers in the powerplay and Ambati Rayudu was the only one who showed some touch as he found the boundaries a few times. In ten overs, Mumbai were on 62 for two. Rohit wasn’t able to get going in this game and took his time in the middle.


When Rayudu fell to in the 12th over, Corey Anderson came in and started building a partnership with Rohit. Anderson announced his intentions when he smashed a six down the ground off Chawla in the 14th over. Rohit also started finding his touch with a few boundaries, but in the 16th over which was bowled by Morne Morkel, he smashed two sixes to warm up for the assault. Anderson was dismissed in that over though as he hit one to mid-wicket.


But Kolkata’s bowlers continued to put in that disciplined display. Shakib did well with one for 21 in his four overs. Morkel went for 35, but did take two wickets.


Towards the death, Rohit got to his fifty off 43 balls when he carved Umesh Yadav for a four through point. Rohit had struggled initially scoring 16 off 26 balls and then picked up pace well. Sunil Narine also did a great job as he bowled well at the death. He dismissed Rohit for 45 in the last over and recorded figures of one for 18. Kieron Pollard also couldn’t do much as he scored 10 off 11 balls.


Brief scores:


Mumbai Indians 141 for 5 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 51; Morne Morkel 2 for 35, Sunil Narine 1 for 18, Shakib Al Hasan 1 for 21) vs Kolkata Knight Riders.


Full Scorecard


Photo Gallery


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


(Nishad Pai Vaidya is a Correspondent with CricketCountry and anchor for the site’s YouTube Channel. His Twitter handle is @nishad_45)