Mysuru Warriors won by 4 runs    Getty Images (Representation Image)
Mysuru Warriors won by 4 runs Getty Images (Representation Image)

Match No. 3 of Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2017 saw Mysuru Warriors take on Bijapur Bulls. In a low-scoring affair, Warriors prevailed by 4 runs after Vyshak Kumar and Shreyas Gopal bowled two excellent overs to end the match, thus saving their side from their first loss. Asked to defend 15 from 12 balls, Vyshak conceded a solitary run and dismissed Nidesh M. After conceding a single off the first two balls, Gopal bowled 5 wides down leg, which brought the target down to 8 from 4 balls. However, Gopal then dismissed Dikshanshu Negi, and conceded a mere 3 off the rest of the over. Negi (44) and Nidesh (48) did play their part in bringing the game till the every end for Bulls but failed to finish the game off.

Asked to chase 151 to win their first game of the tournament, Bulls had a poor start to their innings losing Mohammed Taha, skipper Bharath Chipli and Naveen MG inside the first 6 overs. Bhareth NP scalped Chipli and Naveen for 15 and 11 respectively. Then Nidesh and Negi brought some normalcy in the middle. Negi, in particular, launched an out-and-out attack, hammering S Akshay and Vyshak, clobbering them for 14 and 11 runs respectively to bring the equation from 51 from 36 to almost run-a-ball. The pair added 100 in a mere 75 balls.

Batting first, Mysuru Warriors made 150 in 19.5 overs with help from Arjun Hoysala (32) and Jagadeesha Suchith (27). Skipper Karun Nair made a 15-ball 19, while Suneel Raju chipped in with a 17-ball 22 in the middle overs. Ronit More (4 for 25) was the pick of the bowlers. His scalps include Raju, Suchith, Nair and SP Manjunath. More was supported by Abhimanyu Mithun (2 for 27), while Naveen MG, KC Cariappa and Prithvi Shekawat bagged a wicket apiece.

Brief scores:

Mysuru Warriors 150 in 19.5 overs (Arjun Hoysala 32, Jagadeesha Suchith 27; Ronit More 4 for 25) beat to Bijapur Bulls 146 for 5 in 20 overs (Dikshanshu Negi 48, Nidhish M 44; Vyshak Kumar 2 for 17) by 4 runs.

Man of the Match: Vyshak Vijay Kumar