Kumar Sangakkara pips Sachin Tendulkar to win ICC People's Choice Award

Kumar Sangakkara won the award for second time in a row AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Colombo: Sep 15, 2012

Sri Lanka cricketer Kumar Sangakkara was named winner of the LG ICC People’s Choice Award, ahead of India’s Sachin Tendulkar during the ICC Awards ceremony in Colombo on Saturday.

Just two years after winning it, senior Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar was once again nominated for the International Cricket Council (ICC) People’s Choice award.

Those nominated included Sri Lanka’s Sangakkara, South Africa’s duo Vernon Philander and Jacque Kallis, while England’s James Anderson makes up the quintet of nominees.

Both Sangakkara (2011) and Tendulkar (2010) have won the award in the past.

For the third time in the history of the awards, fans had the opportunity to decide the winner, this time by accessing an application on the ICC’s official Facebook page.

Voting was open until midnight August 31 with the winner to be announced on September 15 at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo, the ICC said in a statement earlier.