Kumar Sangakkara will be the fourth Sri Lankan to ring bell at Lords ahead of 3rd Test at Lord's © Getty Images
Kumar Sangakkara will be the fifth Sri Lankan to ring bell at Lords ahead of 3rd Test at Lord’s © Getty Images

Former Sri Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara will be doing the honors of ringing the five minute bell on day one of third Test match between England vs Sri Lanka Test at Lord’s. The ringing of five-minute bell at Lord’s by an international cricketer, administrator or well-known enthusiast of sport was a tradition introduced in 2007. The bell which is located outside the Bowlers’ Bar of Lord’s Pavillion is a signal for the game to begin and has become a great honour to be invited for the same on the morning of a Test match. Sangakkara holds special memories at Lords that includes Test century when Sri Lanka visited Lord’s two years ago. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: England vs Sri Lanka, 3rd Test match

Sangakkara has been one of the best middle-order batsmen in the modern era. He is stylish yet destructive when it comes to Test cricket holding Test average of 57.40 stands as testament to his quality. The 38-year-old joined the Honours Board late in his career but the wait was worth it. His 147 knock in Lords was a typical show that unleashed array of textbook strokes and shots. He shares this moment with his Sri Lankan team mate Mahela Jayawardene, as mentioned on lords.org

Since this has been a tradition since 2007, the first cricketer to receive this opportunity was former West Indies cricketer Vivian Richards. Sangakkara will be the fifth Sri Lankan to do this honor ahead of the final Test match between Sri Lanka and England.

2007 Vivian Richards
Nawab Pataudi
Sunil Gavaskar
Patrick Eager
Alec Bedster
Ian Botham
Peter Baxter
2008 Tom Graveney
Mike Gatting
Charlotte Edwards
John Reid
Geoff Howarth
Neil Harvey
Barry Richards
Tony Lewis
Alan Davidson
Doug Insole
2009 Michael Holding
Graham Gooch
Tony Lewis
Richie Benaud
Derek Underwood
Clive Radley
Geoffrey Boycott
Sam Loxton
2010 Mike Denness
Bob Willis
Khaled Mahmud
Jonathan Agnew
David Morgan
Shane Warne
Mushtaq Mohammad
Justin Langer
Nasser Hussain
Michael Vaughan
Rameez Raja
John Barclay
2011 Mike Atherton
Sidath Wettimuny
Arjuna Ranatunga
Mark Butcher
Kushil Gunasekera
Alec Stewart
Duncan Fletcher
John Edrich
Dilip Vengsarkar
David Boon
Giles Clarke
2012 Tony Cozier
Brian Lara
Chris Broad
Sir Richie Richardson
Tim Robinson
Yohan Blake
Peter Wilson
David Lloyd
Shaun Pollock
Dave Richardson
2013 Dennis Amiss
Andy Caddick
Jeremy Coney
Ian Smith
Steve Waugh
Mike Brearley
Rodney Marsh
Glenn McGrath
2014 Andrew Strauss
Sanath Jayasuriya
Marvan Attapattu
Phil Tufnell
Chaminda Vaas
Rahul Dravid
Stephen Fry
Claire Taylor
Kapil Dev
Sourav Ganguly
2015 Brett Lee
Simon Jones
Clare Connor
Ricky Ponting
Dickie Bird
Mark Nicholas
Mike Selvey
Mark Ramprakash

England have won the series already and this will be a saving match for Sri Lanka to end their campaign on a positive note.