Current purple cap holder Glenn Maxwell will look to make amends after missing out against Delhi © IANS
Current purple cap holder Glenn Maxwell will look to make amends after missing out against Delhi © IANS


May 21, 2014


Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) face a Mumbai Indians (MI) side, who are looking desperately to win all their matches to qualify for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 playoffs. Punjab are already through to the IPL 7 playoffs and are the in-form team this season. Mumbai have done well recently, but their five-loss start to the seasons has put them off course. The setting is at Punjab’s home ground, Mohali, and they will have an edge.


George Bailey’s side swept Delhi Daredevils in their previous match and booked their place in the IPL 7 playoffs. Their star players in Glenn Maxwell, David Miller and Bailey all failed to contribute significantly. But their strength-in-depth was highlighted as Akshar Patel came to the fore. Beuran Hendricks replaced Mitchell Johnson and took three wickets. Sandeep Sharma again impressed with the ball as he got another three-wicket haul. Check out the Live Scorecard of the Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians, IPL 2014 match here


Mumbai, despite their horror run at the start of the tournament have done well since returning to India. With a boisterous home crowd behind the in-form Punjab, they have their task cut out. Punjab have shown that they have they have the arsenal beyond the usual suspects and would aim to end the final matches on a winning note.




Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (c), David Miller, Manan Vohra, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Virender Sehwag, Rishi Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shaun Marsh, Cheteshwar Pujara, Beuran Hendricks, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Thisara Perera, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Murali Kartik, Sandeep Sharma, Mandeep Singh, Akshar Patel, Parvinder Awana, Shardul Thakur, Anureet Singh, Shivam Sharma, Karanveer Singh.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Aaditya Tare (wk), Michael Hussey, Sushant Marathe, Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Ben Dunk, Josh Hazlewood, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Shreyas Gopal, Jalaj Saxena, CM Gautam (wk), Krishmar Santokie, Marchant de Lange, Jasprit Bumrah, Apoorv Wankhede, Pawan Suyal.


Time: 20:00 IST | 14:30 GMT


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage