The last India cricketers to win this award was Rohit Sharma in 2015 © AFP
The last Indian cricketer to win this award was Rohit Sharma in 2015 © AFP

Cricket itself is a religion in the country of India, and when it comes to great Indian cricketers, they are considered as legends, and are backed to win big titles and championship, and also are backed to win few prestigious awards. Apart from the prestigious ICC Cricket Awards, the great Indian cricketers are also presented with the few of the prestigious awards, and Arjuna Award is one of those awards, that is considered to be highly prestigious, and are given to few of the top cricketers and sportsperson of India. The last Indian cricketer to win this award was Rohit Sharma in 2015. Virat Kohli nominated for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna; Ajinkya Rahane for Arjuna Award

India’s Test captain and batting legend Virat Kohli has been recommended for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, one of the biggest sporting honors by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is not just the Test skipper his team mate Ajinkya Rahane has been nominated for another prestigious Arjuna Award. When it comes India’s batting Kohli is the name that appears top of the mind and has rather become the go to man in every format at the moment. Donning the role of Test captain, Kohli has done his bit taking India to an impressive series win in Sri Lanka and the recent one being against South Africa in 2015 at home. Ravichandran Ashwin receives Arjuna Award

Below is the list of Indian cricketers, who have won the prestigious Arjuna Award till date:

Year Cricketer
1961 Saleem Durani
1964 MAK Pataudi
1965 Vijay Manjrekar
1966 Chandu Borde
1967 Ajit Wadekar
1968 EAS Prasanna
1969 Bishan Singh Bedi
1970 Dilip Sardesai
1971 S Venkataraghavan
1972 Eknath Solkar
1972 BS Chandrashekhar
1975 Sunil Gavaskar
1976 Shanta Rangaswamy
1977-78 Gundappa Vishwanath
1979-80 Kapil Dev Nikhanj
1980-81 Chetan Chauhan
1980-81 Syed Kirmani
1981 Dilip Vengsarkar
1982 Mohinder Amarnath
1983 Diana Edulji
1984 Ravi Shastri
1985 Shubhangi Kulkarni
1986 Mohammad Azharuddin
1986 Sandhya Agarwal
1989 Madan Lal
1993 Manoj Prabhakar
1993 Kiran More
1994 Sachin Tendulkar
1995 Anil Kumble
1996 Javagal Srinath
1997 Ajay Jadeja
1997 Sourav Ganguly
1998 Rahul Dravid
1998 Nayan Mongia
2000 Venkatesh Prasad
2001 VVS Laxman
2002 Virender Sehwag
2003 Harbhajan Singh
2003 Mithali Raj
2005 Anju Jain
2006 Anjum Chopra
2009 Gautam Gambhir
2010 Jhulan Goswami
2011 Zaheer Khan
2012 Yuvraj Singh
2013 Virat Kohli
2014 R Ashwin
2015 Rohit Sharma

The year 2016 has been Kohli’s year with his impressive skills of leading from the front and taking the team to new heights especially in T20 World Cup 2016, Asia Cup 2016 and the current one being Indian Premier League (IPL). With regards to Kohli’s nomination, an official from sports ministry spoke to cricbuzz and said, “We have received the recommendations from the BCCI. Their names will be sent to the awards selection committee.”