Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Andhra and Uttar Pradesh, live from Ongole. Currently languishing at the bottom of Group B with 1 point from 2 matches, Uttar Pradesh will look forward to a boost in this away fixture. Andhra, on the other hand, are tied with Tamil Nadu on 9 points. The teams are just behind Mumbai (14) and Punjab (10), though Tamil Nadu (1.161) has a better quotient than Andhra (1.406). Uttar Pradesh, however, have a star-studded side, featuring Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Tanmay Srivastava, and young Sarfaraz Khan to support their captain Praveen Kumar. However, they will be up against Andhra at their den; led by former Uttar Pradesh captain Mohammad Kaif, Andhra will feature Ricky Bhui, among others.

Live cricket scores Andhra 77/0 | Overs 24 | Batting: Prashanth Kumar 21(65), K S Bharat 56(79): Stephan once again delivered for Andhra, he along with Siva Kumar bagged three wickets each as the hosts bowled out UP for a poor total of 170. At stumps, Andhra trailed UP by 93 runs with 10 wickets in hand.

Live cricket scores UP 156/7 | Overs 55 | Batting: Piyush Chawla 13(19), Kuldeep Yadav 1(5): Andhra did not let the visitors recover. After the dismissal of Akshdeep Nath in the 24th over, UP managed another 65 runs before losing three more quick wickets. Praveen Kumar and opener Tanmay Srivastava scored a fighting 42 from 147 balls and 65-ball 45 respectively, meanwhile Eklavya Dwivedi posted 18 runs after facing 24 deliveries. Stephen who was Andhra’s best bowler in their previous match has managed just one wicket so far in the game.

OUT! Tanmay Srivastava c K S Bharat b Siva Kumar 42(147)’
OUT! Praveen Kumar c K S Bharat b Siva Kumar 47(65)
OUT! Eklavya Dwivedi b Stephen 18(24)


Live cricket scores UP 91/4 | Overs 34 | Batting: Tanmay Srivastava 31(105), Praveen Kumar 24(26): Andhra continue to perform well, after the early breakthrough they picked up three more wickets leaving the visitors at 52 for 4. The other three batsmen to walk back to the pavilion were Umang Sharma, Mohammad Saif and Akshdeep Nath. While Umang and Saif went for a duck, Akshdeep managed a 15-ball 6. The wickets were shared between Ayyappa Bandaru, Siva Kumar and Vijay Kuamr. IT was a second wicket for Vijay in the match.

OUT! Umang Sharma c M U B Sriram b Siva Kumar 0(11)
OUT! Mohammad Saif c M U B Sriram b P Vijay Kumar 0(5)
OUT! Akshdeep Nath c K S Bharat b Ayyappa Bandaru 6(15)

Live cricket scores UP 35/1 | Overs 16 | Batting: Tanmay Srivastava 11(45), Umang Sharma 0(9): Vijay Kumar has given Andhra a goos start, removed opener Almas Shaukat early. He was dismissed on the fourth delivery of the 13th over for a 44-ball 21. That brought Umang Sharma on crease. UP who lost their previous game against Railways so they will want Tanmay to stick around for a while today to ensure competitive first innings score. OUT! Almas Shaukat c K S Bharat b P Vijay Kumar 21(44)

Andhra shocked Mumbai in their first match after Kaif (90) and Bhui (103) took them to 244 at Vizianagram. Mumbai collapsed against BSM Ayyappa and conceded a 7-run lead. Gujarat piled up 308 against them at the same ground, but this time Srikant Bharat (127) and Kaif (76) came to rescue. With the lower middle-order also contributing, Andhra secured a 113-run lead. Their third match, again at Vizianagram, they restricted Baroda to 302 before Bharat, Bhui, and AG Pradeep all slammed hundreds. Once again, Andhra secured a lead, this time reaching 474 for 6. None of the matches have reached the fourth innings, which is probably an indication of how the pitches were like.

Talking about pitches, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh shared points in their season opener at Moradabad, with the latter putting up a defiant 528 for 7 in response to the former’s 686 for 7. They put up a fight against Railways before conceding a 121-run lead, but collapsed to 58 in the fourth innings against Anureet Singh and Krishnakant Upadhyay.


Andhra: Mohammad Kaif (c), Srikant Bharat (wk), Ricky Bhui, Kakani Harish, AG Pradeep, Jyoti Krishna, Prasanth Kumar, BSM Ayyappa, MUB Sriram, Ashwin Hebbar, KV Sasikanth, Hanumappa Shivraj, Siva Kumar, CV Stephen, Bodavarapu Sudhakar, BA Sumanth, DP Vijaykumar.

Uttar Pradesh: Praveen Kumar (c), Piyush Chawla, Sarfaraz Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Tanmay Srivastava, Mohammad Saif, Deependra Pandey, Ankit Rajpoot, Saurabh Kumar, Umang Sharma, Eklavya Dwivedi, Akshdeep Nath, Almas Shaukat, Amit Mishra, Himanshu Asnora, Israr Azim.