Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the first Group A game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Assam and defending champions Karnataka at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. Karanataka, who won the title last year have made it two in a row and would definitely look for a hat-trick here as they aim for their third, and an overall ninth title. However, Assam, who have never won a Ranji title would look to aim for their best season ahead. Although they lost in the quareter-final last season, they would look to go beyond it and feature in the semi-final at least.

Live Cricket Score Assam 21/1| Overs 12 |  Trail by 166 runs| BATTING: Pallav Kumar Das 15 (45), Gokul Sharma 2 (9): Assam go to stumps still trailing Karnataka by 166 runs with nine wickets to spare. Skipper Vinay Kumar gets the lone wicket for Karnataka. OUT! Sarupam Purkayastha b Vinay Kumar 3 (18)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 187| Overs 75.2 |  BATTING: HS Sharath 0 (1): The defending champions Karnataka have been bowled out for a meager total. Syed Mohammad has picked up seven wickets, conceding just 44 runs in the process. This is perhaps the best individual performance on Day One of the Ranji Trophy 2015-16. OUT! Jagdeesha Suchith c Karthick b Verma 14 (76), Shishir Bhavane b Verma 65 (143), Abhimanyu Mithun c Verma b Mohammed 19 (29)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 149/7| Overs 65 |  BATTING: Shishir Bhavane 52 (118), Jagdeesha Suchith 13 (69): Shishir Bhavane has played a vital innings for Karnataka. Suchith too is playing a patient innings. Assam are however still on top at the moment.

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 121/7| Overs 54|  BATTING: Shishir Bhavane 38 (91), Jagdeesha Suchith 1 (30): Karnataka have lost the wickets of Gopal and their skipper Vinay Kumar in quick succession. Assam are well and truly on top at the moment. They will look to wrap up the Karnataka innings as early as possible. OUT! Shreyas Gopal c Tarjinder b Mohammad 9 (13), Vinay Kumar LBW Mohammad 2 (7)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 92/5| Overs 41|  BATTING: Shishir Bhavane 14 (53), Shreyas Gopal 5 (9): Karnataka have lost Karun Nair after lunch and have now lost half their side for less than 100. Assam deserve credit for pecking away at Karnataka. OUT! Karun Nair c Karthick b Mohammad 14 (53)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 76/4| Overs 34|  BATTING: Karun Nair 13 (49), Shishir Bhavane 4 (25): Karnataka are making slow but steady progress. They have lost four wickets and another wicket now might put them in deeper trouble. Assam have done quite well so far. Lunch has been taken at Guwahati.

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 70/4| Overs 27|  BATTING: Karun Nair 10 (24), Shishir Bhavane 1(8): After Having lost Samarth early in the innings; Karnataka lost their two precious wickets of Mayank Agarwal and Robin Uthappa. Both wickets were taken by Syed Mohammed. Gautam got out on a duck. Bhavane and Nair are batting and have a tough job ahead. OUT! Mayank Agarwal c & b Syed Mohammed 36 (82), Robin Uthappa LBW Syed Mohammed 11(23), Gautam c Krishna Das b Syed Mohammed 0(2)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 19/1| Overs 11|  BATTING:  Mayank Agarwal 14 (35=8), Robin Uthappa 0 (5): Assam’s persistence has finally paid off as Samarth is trapped LBW off the bowling of Krishna Das. Brilliant start for Assam. Robin Uthappa is Karnataka’s new batsman. OUT! Samarth R LBW Krishna Das 5 (23)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka 3/0| Overs 6|  BATTING: Samarth R 1 (16), Mayank Agarwal 2 (20): Katnataka are off to  slow start  as Assam are keeping things tight in the initial stages of the day. Agarwal and Samarth are just getting their eye in,

TOSS: Karnataka have won the toss and elected to bat first.

Playing XI:

Assam: Abu Nechim Ahmed, Gokul Sharma (c), K B Arun Karthick (wk), Amit Verma, Arup Das , Krishna Das, Pallav Kumar Das, Sarupam Purkayastha, Sibsankar Roy, Syed Mohammed, Tarjinder Singh.

Karnataka: Vinay Kumar R (c), Robin Uthappa, Karun Nair, Mithun A, Sharath H S, Shreyas Gopal, C M Gautam (wk), Suchith J, Mayank Agarwal, Shishir Bhavane, Samarth R


Assam: Gokul Sharma (c), Arun Karthik (vc), Abu Nechim, Amit Verma, Bikash Chetri, Arup Das, Krishna Das, Pritam Das, Pallavkumar Das, Rishav Das, Swarupam Purkayastha, Sibsankar Roy, Kunal Saikia (wk), Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad, Tarjinder Singh.

Karnataka: R Vinay Kumar (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), CM Gautam (wk), Abhimanyu Mithun, Sreenath Aravind, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, KL Rahul (wk), Shreyas Gopal, HS Sharath, Shishir Bhavane, Ravikumar Samarth.