ASSAM 193/7 in 78 overs | Live Cricket Score, Assam vs Saurashtra, Ranji Trophy 2015-16, 1st semi-final, Day 1 at Vadodra: Stumps

Assam and Saurashtra battle it out for a place in the Ranji Trophy 2015-16 final.

Related articles

Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of the first semi-final of the Ranji Trophy 2015-16 between Assam and Saurashtra, Day 1 at Vadodra. Saurashtra were excellent in the group stages of the competition and their dominance showed in the quarter-final match against Vidarbha, who they thrashed by an innings and 85 runs. Assam have been a surprise in this competition and will want their dream run to continue. They stunned everybody in the quarter-final, where they beat Punjab by 51 runs. Saurashtra finished top of group C, courtesy if some impressive performances, losing just one along the way. Assam on the other hand finished third in Group A, behind Vidarbha and Bengal.  FULL COVERAGE: Ranji Trophy 2015-16

Live Cricket Score Assam 193/7 | Overs 78 | BATTING: Amit Verma 74(210), Dhiraj Goswami 7(13): STUMPS! Amit Verma ensured he remianed unbeaten till the end of the first day. The top-order was dismissed for a total of 19 runs. Hardik Rathod and Jaydev Unadkat bagged three wickets each for Saurashtra with Deepak Punia also making a breakthrough. Arun Karthick, who is Assam’s leading run-scorer in this edition of Ranji Trophy once again deliveries with the bat, scoring 59 runs from 144 balls.

Live Cricket Score Assam 181/7 | Overs 75 | BATTING: Amit Verma 69(198), Dhiraj Goswami 0(7): Jaydev Unadkat is the new wicket-taker for Saurashtra here. He dismisses two batsmen in two overs. Syed Mohammed and Sarupam Purkayastha depart back to the pavilion in a span of eight runs. Unadkat has now bolwed 20 overs, giving 48 runs and has two wickets to his name. OUT! Syed Mohammed c Sagar Jogiyani b Jaydev Unadkat 9(27), OUT! Sarupam Purkayastha c A V Vasavada b Jaydev Unadkat 6(9)

Live Cricket Score Assam 163/5 | Overs 67 | BATTING: Amit Verma 64(181), Syed Mohammed 2(12): Saurashtra finally make a breakthrough. Hardik Rathod strikes again, removing the set batsman Arun Karthick, giving a huge blow to Assam. The tournament has shown that Assam has reached this far due to their excellent bowling line-up, not all the batsmen barring Karthick have really made a difference for them so far. Karthick departed in the 62nd over and in the very next over, Deepak Punia dismissed new man on crease, Tajinder Singh. The latter lasted just 6 balls, leaving Assam at 157 for 5. Karthick held a 127-run partership with Verma for the fourth wicket. OUT! Arun Karthick b Hardik Rathod 59(144), OUT! Tarjinder Singh b Deepak Punia 5(6)

Live Cricket Score Assam 123/3 | Overs 51 | BATTING: Amit Verma 41(123), Arun Karthick 51(123): Karhick brings up his 15th First-Class FIFTY by taking a double on the fourth ball of the 51st over. And with the end of this over, the duo have put together a total of 98 runs on board. Excellent cricket from them, clearly have helped Assam recover following their collapse of the top-order.

Live Cricket Score Assam 91/3 | Overs 37 | BATTING: Amit Verma 34(82), Arun Karthick 35(77): No dismissals after lunch for Saurashtra. A four to end the 37th over. Verma and Karthick have well settled on crease, frustrating the opponnets. While Verma has hit five boundaries so far, Karthick has three fours and a six to his name from his innings of 77 deliveries. Meanwhile, Jaydev Unadkat has been the most economical bowler for Saurashtra in this match, giving just 21 runs in his spell of 11 overs.

Live Cricket Score Assam 37/3 | Overs 17 | BATTING: Amit Verma 9(23), Arun Karthick 8(14): The last batsman to get dismissed was Assam opening batsman Pallav Kumar Das, a second wicket of the match for Rathod. Das has had a below average tournament so far, averaging below 30. Even today, Das latsed only 40 balls, scoring just 13 runs. However, Saurashtra cannot be very happy because that dismissal brought in Karthick in, Assam’s highest run scorer so far in the tournament. Karthick has scored 736 runs in 9 matches with this semi-final being his 19th innings. He has scored three tons and two half-centuries in this Ranji Trophy. OUT! Pallav Kumar Das LBW Hardik Rathod 13(40)

Live Cricket Score Assam 24/2 | Overs 11 | BATTING: Pallav Kumar Das 13 (33), Amit Verma 4 (8): Another wicket down for Assam and of Gokul Sharma and new batsman on crease is Amit Verma. Jaydev Unadkat takes that wicket important wicket. Hardik Rathod and Jaydev Unadkat have rotated attacks for Saurastra. Pallav Kumar Das needs to push his innings if Assam needs win this semi-finals against Saurasthra. OUT! Gokul Sharma b by Jaydev Uandkat for 6 (20)

Live Cricket Score Assam 8/1 | Overs 6 | BATTING: Pallav Kumar Das 7(20), Gokul Sharma 0(11): Saurashtra struck early in the first semi-final when Hardik Rathod made the first breakthrough in the very fourth over of the day. Assam opening batsman Rahul Hazarika lasted only five balls before giving a catch to Pujara. However, Hazarika has had am average season so it was not surprising to watch him throw away his wicket. Good start for Saurashtra! OUT! Rahul Hazarika c Cheteshwar Pujara b Hardik Rathod 0(5)

TOSS UPDATE: Saurashtra won the toss, elected to field first. 

For Assam, Arun Karthik is the leading run-getter for the team with 728 runs at 48.53, which included four centuries and one fifty. He has often dug the team out of trouble and is one of the main reasons for Assam’s resurgence this season so far. As far as the bowling is concerned, Kfast bowler Krishna Das has been in phenomenal form this season. He has picked up 47 wickets this season and is the fifth highest wicket-taker in the competition so far. His bowling partner Arup Das  has 32 wickets to his credit.

With 478 runs, Sheldon Jackson is the leading run-scorer for Saurashtra. He has also scored two fifties and two centuries in the competition. Despite playing just four matches in the group stage, Ravindra Jadeja is their highest wicket-taker with 38 wickets in four matches. Off-spinner Kamlesh Makvana has also been impressive, picking up 33 wickets.


Assam: Gokul Sharma (c), Arun Karthik, Abu Nechim, Amit Verma, Bikash Chetri, Arup Das, Krishna Das, Pritam Das, Pallavkumar Das, Rishav Das, Swarupam Purkayastha, Sibsankar Roy, Kunal Saikia (wk), Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad, Tarjinder Singh

Saurashtra: Jaydev Shah (c),  Arpit Vasavada, Mohsin Ahmedbhai Dodia, Abhishek Bhat, Avi Barot, Sheldon Jackson, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Ravindra Jadeja, Chirag Jani, Vandit Jivrajani, Sagar Jogiyani (wk), Kamlesh Makvana, Cheteshwar Pujara, Deepak Punia, Jaydev Unadkat.

trending this week