Live Updates

  • 4:06 PM IST

    The third game of the Bangladesh Premier League has also been abandoned as rain has interrupted the play. This is the third game of the tournament which has been called off due to rain and no action has been witnessed so far.

  • 1:51 PM IST

    Toss delayed due to rain.

Chittagong Vikings have the big gun in the form of Chris Gayle. Photo Courtesy: Twitter
Chittagong Vikings have the big gun in the form of Chris Gayle. Photo Courtesy: Twitter

Good afternoon, শুভ অপরাহ্ন! Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Match 1 of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, between Barisal Bulls and Chittagong Vikings, at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on Friday. I am Suraj Choudhari, and I will be bringing to you the live updates from this opening tie. Barisal, the runners-up of the previous edition, would look for a fresh start to their campaign, as they would also aim to get off to a winning start and repeat the heroics of last season to win the tournament as well, while the Vikings too would aim for a winning start. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Points Table and Team Standings

In BPL 2016, Rajshahi Kings is mostly to be led by West Indies T20 winning skipper Darren Sammy under whose captaincy West Indies have 2-titles under their belt. Mahmudullah will be leading Khulna Titans yet once again with Pakistan’s star Shahid Afridi leading Rangpur Riders for the very first time.

The first 16 games of the tournament will be played at the same venue after the next 10 games will be played at Chittagong. The next 20 games including the final will again be played at Mirpur. A total of 46 games will be played in the whole tournament. The second game will be played between Rangpur Riders and Khulna Titans followed by the encounter between Barisal Bulls and Chittagong Vikings. Comilla Victorians will play their second game against Dhaka Dynamites, who will be playing their first game of the tournament. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Schedule and Time Table

The top two teams of the table will play Qualifier 1 and the winner of this contest will directly advance to the finals of the tournament. The loser of Qualifier 1 will get another reprieve and will play the eliminator. Qualifier two will be played between third and fourth team in the points table and will be a knock out one. The loser will be disqualified while the winner of Qualifier 2 will move to the Qualifier 2, where it will lock horns with the loser of Qualifier 1. The winner of Qualifier 2 will make it to the finals where it will play against the winner of Qualifier 1.

The fourth season of the tournament has seen a number of high- profile players movements from one team to other. These included transfers between competing teams and due to the suspension of the Sylhet Super Stars and the introduction of two new teams, Khulna Titans and Rajshahi Kings. Transfers included the move of Barisal Bulls captain Mahmudullah Riyad to the Khulna Titans, Chris Gayle from the Barisal Bulls to the Chittagong Vikings, the signing of Shahid Afridi as team captain of Rangpur Riders from the Sylhet Super Stars and Shakib Al Hasan as team captain of Dhaka Dynamites from Rangpur Riders and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza set for Comilla Victorians. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL): BPL 2016 team and squad details


Barisal Bulls: Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Carlos Brathwaite, Joshua Cobb, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Nawaz, Monir Hossain, Dilshan Munaweera, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk, c), Nadif Chowdhury, Rumman Raees, Shahriar Nafees, Shamsur Rahman, Taijul Islam.

Chittagong Vikings: Abdur Razzak, Anamul Haque (wk), Chaturanga de Silva, Grant Elliott, Chris Gayle, Tamim Iqbal (c), Imran Khan jnr, Jahurul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Jeevan Mendis, Tymal Mills, Mohammad Nabi, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Saqlain Sajib, Shahidul Islam, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Subashis Roy, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Zakir Hasan.