Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day two of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Baroda and Punjab, live from Motibaug Cricket Ground, Vadodara. Contrary to what experts felt before the match, Braoda batted exceedingly well yesterday i.e. on day one of this encounter. Somewhere down the line Punjab may be feeling that they erred by choosing to field as the opposition piled up 344 for the loss of only three wickets at stumps yesterday. Baroda are looking well set to go beyond 500 today. None of Punjab bowlers posed any threat to Baroda batsmen. Chief let down was Harbhajan Singh who went wicketless after having bowled16 overs. Yuvraj Singh, Gurkeerat Singh and Deepak Bansal picked one wicket each. At stumps, Hardik Pandya was at the crease batting on 42 with the help of four boundaries.  READ: Ranji Trophy 2015-16, full coverage here

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Punjab 112/3 | Overs 36 | BATTING: Uday Kaul 47(102), Yuvraj Singh 43(93): The visitors are reduced to 19 for 3 after bowling Baroda out for 475, with Irfan Pathan and Munaf Patel tearing into the Punjab top-order.  Kaul then rallies with Yuvraj, with the duo sharing an unbroken partnership worth 93 at stumps on Day 2. Both batsmen are also on the verge of bringing up their half-centuries. OUT! Manan Vohra lbw Munaf Patel 4(8), Jiwanjot Singh c Swapnil Singh b Irfan Pathan 7(13), Mandeep Singh c Pinal Shah b Irfan Pathan 0(5)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Baroda 475 | Overs 130.5 | BATTING: Pinal Shah 55(67): Baroda’s innings comes to a close with 475 runs on board, with Shah remaining unbeaten on 55 after hitting eight fours and a six in his 67-ball innings. Deepak Bansal finishes as the pick among the Punjab bowlers with figures of 3 for 57. Munaf Patel is the last batsman to depart, getting caught by Vohra off the bowling of Harbhajan Singh. OUT! Gagandeep Singh c Siddharth Kaul b Gurkeerat Mann 17(45), Munaf Patel c Manan Vohra b Harbhajan Singh 0(11)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Baroda 433/8 | Overs 118 | BATTING: Pinal Shah 29(37), Gagandeep Singh 1(9): Baroda head to lunch after having crossed the 400-run mark, while losing a handful of wickets at the same time. Pinal Shah is batting on 29 at the moment, with Gagandeep on 1 for company at the other end. Earlier, Hardik Pandya’s innings of 59 came to an end after he was trapped lbw off the bowling of Barinder Sran. OUT! Hardik Pandya lbw Barinder Singh Sran 59(161), Deepak Hooda c Manan Vohra b Siddharth Kaul 9(19), Yusuf Pathan c Yuvraj Singh b Barinder Singh Sran 4(4), Irfan Pathan b Deepak Bansal 18(27)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Baroda 364/4 | Overs 100  | BATTING: Harshal Pandya 54(143), Deepak Hooda 1(3): Baroda has resumed play on Day 2 of the ongoing Round 7. Swapnil K Singh who was on crease at stumps of the opening day did not last long on Day 2. He scored 2 off 23 balls before giving a catch to Manan Vohra on the first delivery of the 100th over. OUT! Swapnil Singh c Manan Vohra b Deepak Bansal 2(23) 

The match will get quite interesting today. We might witness Yuvraj and Gurkeerat’s batting later on in the day if Baroda gets out early which is highly unlikely considering the way they are batting. Even if Baroda witnesses a batting collapse, it’s expected that they will at least go past 450. Punjab have a good batting line up and they have been bolstered with the coming back of Yuvraj Singh and Gurkeerat Singh. It is expected that this match will be a high scoring encounter. Punjab is currently at third spot with 17 points in Group B in the tournament. In the five matches they have played so far, they won two, drew two and lost only one. Baroda, on the other hand are stranded on eighth position in the group just above the lowest ranked team Baroda. They lost three, drew two and won only one match. They have just nine points from these six games and will be looking forward to improve their record. Baroda, who looked so good yesterday would be looking forward to go up in the rankings by winning this match.

Playing XI:

Baroda: Yusuf Pathan, Aditya Waghmode, Deepak Jagbir Hooda, Gagandeep, HH Pandya, Kedar Devdhar, Swapnil K Singh, Munaf Patel, P R Shah (wk), AT Rayudu (C), IK Pathan

Punjab: Harbhajan Singh (C), Jiwanjot Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Mandeep Singh, Gurkeerat Mann, Manan Vohra, Deepak Bansal, Gitansh Khera (wk), Siddharth Kaul, Uday Kaul, Barinder Singh Sran