Live Updates

  • 5:18 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Comilla 132/8 in 20 Ovs. BATTING: Nazmul Hossain Shanto 54 (44)*, Al-Amin Hossain 2 (6)* — CHITTAGONG WIN!!!! That’s it, Chittaging have drawnt eh first blood in this opening tie, while Comilla gave tough fightback, but was not enough to get the win, as both the teams now look forward to the long road ahead.
    OUT! Al-Amin Hossain b Mohammad Nabi 14 (18), Sohail Tanvir lbw b Mohammad Nabi 0 (1)

  • 4:55 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Comilla 101/6 in 16 Ovs. BATTING: Nazmul Hossain Shanto 29 (33)*, Al-Amin Hossain 12 (12)* — GONE!!!! Imad Wasim is the latest man to be dismissed, as he falls for mere four to Taskin, after being caught by Nabi, while Al Amin Hossain is the new man in. Comilla still need 60 off 24.

    OUT! Imad Wasim c Mohammad Nabi b Taskin Ahmed 4 (2)

  • 4:35 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Comilla 72/5 in 12 Ovs. BATTING: Nazmul Hossain Shanto 16 (23)*, Imad Wasim 0 (0)* — GONE!!!! A couple more fall, as Ashar aidi falls foa a mere couple to Mohammad Nabi, while the skipper Mashrafe Mortaza too departs for a cheap off Tymal Mills. Imad Wasim is the new man in, as things indeed look difficult for Comilla.
    OUT! Ashar Zaidi b Mohammad Nabi 2 (8), Mashrafe Mortaza b Tymal Mills 1 (2)

  • 4:09 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Comilla 46/3 in 8 Ovs. BATTING: Nazmul Hossain Shanto 1 (4), Ashar Zaidi 0 (4) — GONE!!!!
    A couple of more wickets fall in the form of veteran Smuels, who falls for 23 to Abdur Razzak, after being caught by Taskib Ahmed, followed by Liton Das for mere 13 off Mohammad Nabi, after being caught by Anamul, as Nazul Hossain, and Ashar Zaidi make their way in. Can Comilla chase it down?

    OUT! Marlon Samuels c Taskin Ahmed b Abdur Razzak 23 (18), Liton Das c Anamul Haque b Mohammad Nabi 13 (18)

  • 3:51 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Comilla 20/1 in 4 Ovs. BATTING: Liton Das 4 (10), Marlon Samuels 8 (10) — GONE!!!!
    the opening wicket for Comilla falls early, as Imrul Kayes is out for
    mere six by Dwayne Smith, after being caught by Anamul, while veteran
    Marlon Samuels makes his way in.

    OUT! Imrual Kayes c Anamul Haque b Dwayne Smith 6 (4)

  • 3:16 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Chittagong 161/3 in 20 Ovs. BATTING: Shoaib Malik 42 (28), Jahurul Islam 29 (21) — THAT’S IT!!!! Chittagong have managed to put up an above average total of 161 for the loss of three wickets, although more was expected out of the side. However, with the wicket seeming to be on the slower side, it is a good competitve total. Can Comilla chas eit down, or can Chittagong defend it?

  • 2:54 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Chittagong 122/3 in 16 Ovs. BATTING: Shoaib Malik 21 (15), Jahurul Islam 11 (10) — GONE!!!! Anamul is the latest man to be dismissed as he too falls prey to an unfortunate run out for 22, while Jahurul SIlam is the new man in. How much can Chittaging can put on the board?

    OUT! Anamul Haque run out (Samuels) 22 (18)

  • 2:36 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Chittagong 92/2 in 12 Ovs. BATTING: Anamul Haque 15 (15),
    Shoaib Malik 9 (4) —
    GONE!!!! Tamim is the latest victim, as he falls prey to a run out, owing to a mis-communication with Anamul, while the experienced Shoaib Malik makes his way in.

    OUT! Tamim run out (Hossain Shanto/Liton Das) 54 (38)

  • 2:11 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Chittagong 56/1 in 8 Ovs. BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 38 (27), Anamul Haque 4 (6) — GONE!!!! Dwayne Smith is the first man to be dismissed, as he falls for mere nine to Imad Wasim, after being caught by Sharif at long off, while Anamul Haque makes his way in.

    OUT! Dwayne Smith c Sharif b Imad Wasim 9 (15)

  • 1:51 PM IST

    LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Chittagong 20/0 in 4 Ovs. BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 12 (14), Dwayne Smith 8 (10) — Good start by Chittagong as the openers in the from of Tamim and Dwayne Smith seem to be giving Chittagong an explosive start, while the Comilla bowlers are still in hunt for their opening wicket.

  • 1:31 PM IST


    Comilla Victorians: Al-Amin, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Imrul Kayes, Marlon
    Samuels, Nahidul Islam, Liton Das (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Imad Wasim,
    Ashar Zaidi, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Sharif.

    Chittagong Vikings: Tamim Iqbal (c), Dwayne Smith, Nazmul Hossain Milon,
    Jahurul Islam, Anamul Haque (wk), Zakir Hasan, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad
    Nabi, Abdur Razzak, Taskin Ahmed, Tymal Mills.

  • 1:10 PM IST

    Toss: Comilla Victorians (Field)

© Getty Images
Both the teams will try hard to emerge victorious © Getty Images

Good afternoon, শুভ অপরাহ্ন! Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Match 1 of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, between Comilla Victorians and Chittagong Vikings, at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on Tuesday. We will be bringing to you the live updates from this opening game as the anticipation level for the same is on a high. Both the teams will look for a flying start to the tournament and take a point in the tournament opener. This is an ideal platform for the young guns to showcase their talent on a stage, which can be recognised. Expect a run-fest as both the teams are brimming with talent and quality batting. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Points Table and Team Standings

This is the fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League 2016 , which is starting on November 8, which will feature seven teams. The tournament has been rescheduled after the first four games were washed away due to rain. The unplayed matches will be played later, which means there has not been any cut in action. The tournament will be played over a span of over month with the final being played on December 10. Two new teams will be making its debut this season — Khulna Titans and Rajshahi Kings with new ownership after the original franchises missed out the 2015 edition. The tournament is expected to be a thriller and the seven teams to participate in this are Comilla Victorians, Rajshahi Kings, Rangpur Riders, Khulna Titans, Barisal Bulls, Chittagong Vikings, and Dhaka Dynamites.

Expect some breathtaking actions for over a month as many overseas players have been drafted in the tournament. The final of the tournament will be played on December 10, 2016 at Dhaka. Each team will be play a total number of 12 games and the top four will get a nod ahead. All the games of the elimination round will be played at the same venue of Dhaka.

The top two teams of the table will play Qualifier 1 and the winner of this contest will directly advance to the finals of the tournament. The loser of Qualifier 1 will get another reprieve and will play the eliminator. Qualifier two will be played between third and fourth team in the points table and will be a knock out one. The loser will be disqualified while the winner of Qualifier 2 will move to the Qualifier 2, where it will lock horns with the loser of Qualifier 1. The winner of Qualifier 2 will make it to the finals where it will play against the winner of Qualifier 1.


Comilla Victorians: Abdullah Al Mamun, Al-Amin, Ashar Zaidi, Jason Holder, Imad Wasim, Imrul Kayes, Khalid Latif, Nuwan Kulasekara, Liton Das (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Sharif, Nabil Samad, Nahidul Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Thisara Perera, Rovman Powell, Rashid Khan, Shahzaib Hasan, Sohail Tanvir.

Chittagong Vikings: Abdur Razzak, Anamul Haque (wk), Chaturanga de Silva, Grant Elliott, Chris Gayle, Tamim Iqbal (c), Imran Khan jnr, Jahurul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Jeevan Mendis, Tymal Mills, Mohammad Nabi, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Saqlain Sajib, Shahidul Islam, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Subashis Roy, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Zakir Hasan.