Naman Ojha top-scored for Central Zone on Day One with an unbeaten knock of 122 from XX balls © Getty Images (File Photo)
Naman Ojha top-scored for Central Zone on Day One with an unbeaten knock of 122 from 193 balls © Getty Images (File Photo)

Oct 23, 2014


That is the end of day’s play as North Zone have been stabilised by Gautam Gambhir who will return to the hut with 68 to his name. North are 130 for two:



North Zone are being led by Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh. Virender Sehwag was earlier dismissed for 32 by Pankaj Singh. They are currently 83 for two.





Noeth Zone have a mssive task in hand as they look to surpass a amamoth total of 538 set by Central Zone. The famous pair of Gambhir and Sehwag is on the crease as they take on the Central Zone bowlers.





Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of Day Two of the Duleep Trophy semi-final between North Zone and Central Zone at Mohali. Central Zone will resume from their overnight score of 344 for the loss of three wickets, with Naman Ojha and Ashok Menaria batting on 122 and 53 respectively.

Earlier Jalaj Saxena had shined with the bat with a valiant knock of 110 from 187 balls, including 17 fours. Central Zone lost their first wicket with 55 runs on the board, losing their second wicket with just 44 runs added to the total. Saxena and Ojha then shared a 140-run stand that helped the Central side seize the initiative. After Saxena’s departure from the middle, Ojha and Menaria’s partnership further strengthened Central’s position in the match and took their team past the 300-run mark with a plenty of wickets to spare on the second day of the semi-final.

Harbhajan Singh, the regular North Zone skipper is not playing this match because of viral fever. Instead of him Gautam Gambhir is leading the team. Players like Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh who are desperate to impress the selectors, are featuring in the North Zone Squad.

In the other Semi-final at Lahli Rohtak, South Zone made a decent start against Manoj Tiwary’s East Zone thanks to patient knocks by their openers, Robin Uthappa and KL Rahul. Uthappa scored a gritty 120 from 196 deliveries, including 14 fours and two sixes. It was a superb bowling display by the likes of Laxmi Ratan Shukla (four for 30), Ashok Dinda (two for 51) and Basant Mohanty (two for 60) that ripped through the middle-order to reduce the South Zone from 211 for two to 236 for nine at the end of day’s play.


North Zone: Gautam Gambhir(c), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Jiwanjot Singh, Mandeep Singh, Rajat Paliwal, Harshal Patel, Rishi Dhawan, Parvez Rasool, Yuzvendra Chahal, Samiullah Beigh, Parvinder Awana, Nitin Saini(wk), Gurkeerat Mann.

Central Zone: Piyush Chawla(c), Naman Ojha (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Karn Sharma, Robin Bist, Ashok Menaria, Pankaj Singh, Amit Mishra, Ishwar Pandey, Faiz Fazal, Shalabh Shrivastava, Jalaj Saxena, Mahesh Rawat(wk), Arindam Ghosh.