Manoj Tiwary © PTI
Manoj Tiwary led East Zone to a victory against West Zone © PTI


Oct 22, 2014


OUT!!!!!!! Pragyan Ojha is removed for a duck and it’s almost the end of the innings for South Zone. The umpires call for the stumps as the day wraps up with not a good innings and surely what everyone would have expected from South Zone after a brilliant century from Robin Uthappa.
P Ojha 0 (lbw Dinda)




OUT!!!!!!!! Stuart Binny has to depart for cheap and just what wasn’t at all expected from the South Zone players is happening at the moment. Wickets tumbling and the team collapsing like a pile of cards oafter a good initial build-up.
S Binny 5 (c Tewari b Dinda)



Well, well,well…….. Are we about to see a massive collapse like a glacier. Three wickets in quick succession in the form of B Aparajhit, D Karthik and R Vinay Kumar. Superb bowling by Mohanty and Laxmi Ratan Shukla. Now the score of 250 too looks uncertain. The batsmen must try to clam down instead of getting panicked.
Aparajhit 7 (lbw Mohanty), D Kathik (b L Shukla), R Vinay Kumar 0 (c & b L Shukla)




The batsmen trying to settle down and taking their own time to get comfortable with the conditions and steer the innings slowly. The bowlers still doing a good job by bowling at the perfect line and length, not allowing the batsmen to free the arms and go after them. Would be interesting to see if they cross the 250 mark here.




After two quick dismissals of Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa, its time for thge two new batsmen on the crease to steer the innings past 250 and possibly scoring around 300. Uthappa was dismissed to Rana Dutta for 120 and a brilliant knock coming to an end has surely steered some confidence among the players that it could turn out to be a good batting track later.
Robian Uthappa 120





South zone 211/3 | Overs 67

R Uthappa 104

Gone! Manish Pandey is gone for 26. Bad bad shot by Pandy. Rana Dutta is among the wickets now. Good sharp catch by Sourabh Tiwary at the slip.

Manish Pandey c Tiwary b Dutta 26 (54)

It’s a century for Robin Uthappa. Brilliant knock after having spent most time on the crease. With the knock coming in about 175 balls, he would now look to steer the South Zone’s innings and try to finish around 300 at the end of the day to be in a comfortable position for tomorrow.




It’s Tea at Rohtak during the first semi-final. South Zone are still in good command of the game having lost just one wicket in the session in the form of Karun Nair for 32. The bowlers are still doing a great job of not allowing the batsmen to score freelt, however, this session saw the scoring around 100 runs.
K Nair 32




A good start to the post-lunch session as South Zone seem to continue their momentum whereas East Zone continue to bowl in a good line and hardly give room to the batsmen. But they need to take wicket from hereon in order to put extrapressure on the batsmen and so do the batsmen as they need to steer the innings a bit from hereon.




It’s Lunch on Day 1 of the Duleep Trophy semi-final between East Zone and South Zone at Rohtak. A composed half comprising of just one wicket. However, credit to the East Zone bowlers for bowling a good line and length and nourishing the conditions in order to keep the batsmen quiet.




Finally a breakthrough coming in the 45th over as KL Rahul was dismissed off Laxmi Ratan Shukla. Uthappa continues to play in a composed manner as he has scored 21 off 81 balls and proves that he is out their to play a long innings and is in no hurry to finish things off.




OUT!!!!!! KL Rahul is dismissed for 21 and it’s Laxmi Ratan Shukla who gets the first break-through for East Zone. A short-pitch delivery, the batsman tends to leave it, but the ball ends up clipilng the ball over the off and middle stump.
KL Rahul 21 (b Shukla)



Another good five overs as the bowlers continue to maintain their good line and length and leaving no room for the batsmen to free their arms. B Mohanty and V Aaron bowling a good line with good speed as the batsmen tend to play sensibly and refrain themselves from being ambitious.



An interesting 10 overs from the bowling point of view. Good line and length bowling by the bowlers. However, the batsman are playing sensibly and are not willing to take any undue risks as it’s just the initial stages of this crucial semi-final.




The batsmen are finding life difficult as Ashok Dinda seems to be giving them a tough time on the crease. Uthappa gets a life-line after he was dropped in the seventh over by S Chaterjee off Dinda.




A composed start from both the players. Ashok Dindia looking dangerous with the ball as he tend to swing it both ways and is nourishing the early morning conditions good enough.




A slow start from South Zone. The bowl seems to be turning during the early hours and the batsmen need to play sensibly during the first few hours as the out field too is a bit slow owing to the morning dew.




According to PTI, after registering an impressive come-from-behind win in their quarter-final against West Zone, a supremely confident East Zone side will take on a last edition’s joint champions South Zone in the Duleep Trophy semi-final, from Wednesday.

It will be East that will start as favourites against South after their crushing 102-run win over West, having conceded a 44-run first innings lead. Also with the match played at the seamer-friendly Bansi Lal Stadium track, East will hold an advantage having played a match here and winning it outright on the fourth day.

Skipper Manoj Tiwary has started the first-class season on a bright note with a gutsy century while the other Tiwary — burly Jharkhand lad Saurabh also set up an exciting final day with a second innings ton. Not to forget young Bengal southpaw Sudeep Chatterjee’s attractive 99 and the spells from speedster Ashok Dinda and swing bowler Basant Mohanty. One also needs to give credit to Tripura’s Rana Dutta for his fove-for effort in the first innings.

While South were joint champions last year along with North Zone after a rain-truncated final at Kochi, they have a relatively younger side this time with the Karnataka seam trio of skipper Ranganath Vinay Kumar, HS Sharath and Abhimanyu Mithun leading the bowling attack.

The only specialist spinner expected to be in the side is left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who will be eager to leave behind the controversies, that had cropped up due to talks on his action. The three seam bowlers will try to exploit the lively conditions of the 22-yard strip on offer but South’s batting looks a bit thin on strength in the absence of seasoned opener Murali Vijay along with the immensely talented duo of Lokesh Rahul and Karun Nair.

It will depend on veteran keeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik, India discard Abhinav Mukund and Robin Uthappa to show their pyrotechnics with the willow. The selectors will also keenly watch Baba Aparajith’s performance if he gets the nod in the playing XI while Tamil Nadu batsman Ramaswamy Prasanna will also hold fort in the middle-order.


South Zone: R Vinay Kumar (c), Abhinav Mukund, Robin Uthappa, VA Jagadeesh, Ramaswamy Prasanna, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Baba Aparajith, Pragyan Ojha, Abhimanyu Mithun, HS Sharath, Amogh Desai, Shreyas Gopal, Malolan Rangarajan, D Ravi Teja, Hanuma Vihari

East Zone: Rameez Nemat, Natraj Behera, Sudip Chatterjee, Manoj Tiwary (c), Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Saurabh Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, Basant Mohanty, Ashok Dinda, Rana Dutta, Abu Nechim, Govinda Podder, Samar Quadri Gokul Sharma.