Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 4 of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Himachal Pradesh and Goa, live from Dharamsala. Himachal Pradesh have acquired a 52-run lead at stumps on Day Three. Goa have erased the deficit and lead by 130 runs as play resumes on Day Four. While Amogh Desai and Swapnil Asnodkar have given them the start they required, it will be interesting to see if Dheeraj Jadhav plays safe or goes for a bold declaration, chasing an outright win. If he goes for the latter, Day Four certainly promises exciting cricket.  READ: Ranji Trophy 2015-16, full coverage here

Live cricket scores HP 125/2| Target 316| Overs 30| Batting: PK Dogra 2(3), AR Kalsi 6(16): PS Chopra fails to judge a ball by Darshan Misal and gets bowled. Himachal were batting on 125 for two when play got interrupted due to bad light. PK Dogra and AR Kalsi were at the crease batting on two and six respectively. OUT! PS Chopra b Darshan Misal 60(86)

Live cricket scores HP 112/1| Target 316| Overs 25| Batting: PS Chopra 55(72), AR Kalsi 0(3): Finally, Goa draw first blood, they take the wicket of AK Bains. Bains was unfortunate as he got out just one short of his fifty. AR Kalsi has arrived at the cease after Bains’ departure. Himachal now need 204 runs to win. OUT! AK Bains c Rahul Keni b Amogh Desai 49(75)

Live cricket scores HP 62/0| Target 316| Overs 10.4| Batting: AK Bains 26(30), PS Chopra 28(34):  Himachal have got off to a flyer and guess what, they haven’t lost a wicket. They still have a long way to go. AK Bains and PS Chopra are batting on 26 and 28 respectively. Goa bowlers are struggling with their line and length, their pitching of the cricket ball has been wayward. They have given eight extras too, they need to tighten their fielding also.

Live cricket scores Goa 324 & 367/6 declared| HP 376 | Overs 118| Batting: Rahul Keni 6(16), Dheeraj Jadhav 50(91): Goa lose two quick wickets— Snehal Kauthankar and RR Singh. Kauthankar gets out just after he completes his century; RR Singh soon follows suit. Dheeraj Jadhav reaches his hundred. Goa declare their innings on 367. Himachal will now need 316 runs to win when they come to bat in the fourth innings. The target is tough because they will have to play faster than run a ball to win. It will be interesting to observe the approach of their openers. OUT! Snehal Kauthankar c AK Rana (sub) b RR Dhawan 101(153), RR Singh c PK Dogra b RR Dhawan 4(3)

Live cricket scores Goa 324 & 345/4| HP 376 | Overs 112.1| Batting: Snehal Kauthankar 100(150), Dheeraj Jadhav 39(78): Snehal Kauthankar and Dheeraj Jadhav’s partnership is now worth 106 runs. Snehal Kauthankar has just reached his century. He scored his hundred at a good pace on just 150 balls i.e. scoring two runs on every three balls faced on an average. Kauthankar struck 16 beautifully timed fours en route his century. Dheeraj Jadhav is batting at the other end on 39.

Live cricket scores Goa 324 & 290/4| HP 376 | Overs 104.1| Batting: Snehal Kauthankar 75(126), Dheeraj Jadhav 17(54): Goa are leading by 238 runs, let’s see when they think about declaration. Snehal Kauthankar is batting superbly on 75, he has not shown any apparent weakness in his batting so far. Maybe Goa will declare after he reaches his century. Goa have slightly upped their scoring rate also in the last few overs.

Live cricket scores Goa 324 & 247/4| HP 376 | Overs 91| Batting: Snehal Kauthankar 50(87), Dheeraj Jadhav 1(15): Goa have added 65 runs to their overninght score of 182 but have also lost a wicket. Darshan Misal missed on a fifty and got out for 44. However, Snehal Kauthankar has reached his half century. He has struck eight shots to the fence so far. Goa are now leading by 195 runs. OUT! Darshan Misal c AK Rana (sub) b AP Vashisht 44(74)

Himachal Pradesh trailed by a mere 26 when play resumed on Day Three. Rishi Dhawan came out all guns blazing, helping his team go past Goa’s 324. However, Rituraj Singh and Prasanth Parameswaran kept pegging away the wickets, and Himachal Pradesh were restricted to 376. Paras Dogra (167 in 230 balls, 20 fours, 3 sixes) was the ninth man out. Rituraj finished with 3 for 95 and Parameswaran, with 5 for 82.

In response, Desai (63 in 168 balls, 9 fours) and Asnodkar (72 in 184 balls, 9 fours) began grittily, erasing the deficit and adding 131 for the opening stand. Himachal Pradesh fought back after captain Bipul Sharma dismissed both openers. With first innings hero Sagun Kamat also falling cheaply, the score read 152 for 3, but Darshan Misal and Snehal Kauthankar remained there till stumps.


Himachal Pradesh: Bipul Sharma (c), Ankush Bains (wk), Rishi Dhawan, Robin Bist, Akash Vasisht, Akshay Chauhan, Ankit Kalsi, Nikhil Gangta, Paras Dogra, Prashant Chopra, Ronit More.

Goa: Dheeraj Jadhav (c), Rahul Keni (wk), Amogh Desai, Swapnil Asnodkar, Sagun Kamat, Darshan Misal, Snehal Kauthankar, Rituraj Singh, Shadab Jakati, Buddhadev Mangaldas, Prasanth Parameswaran.