Live Updates

  • 8:49 PM IST

    The best batters of England Women – Sarah Taylor and Heather Knight completed the task like a piece of cake with an unbeaten stand of 78 runs. Sadly, Sarah missed out on her fifty by a run. Sri Lanka Women might want to take some lessons home after a not so pleasant outing in the warm-up. England win by 8 wickets with 118 balls to spare.

  • 8:21 PM IST

    ENG W 129/2, 26 Overs, Need 64 to win, Batting: Sarah Taylor 29, Heather Knight 24: With wickets in hand, Taylor and Knight are handling the task like a boss. They have just 27 runs to win and Sri Lanka look hapless against the might of these strong batters.

  • 8:20 PM IST

    NZ W win by 7 wickets: New Zealand played with intent and finished the task like a piece of cake. Despite the wicket of Priest who got to her fifty, Sophie Devine and Katey Martin continued from the task was left and leading to New Zealand’s 7-wicket win with 141 balls to spare. Devine hit a six off the final delivery of Shikha to add fire to the wound.

  • 8:02 PM IST

    ENG W 92/2, 19 Overs, Need 64 to win, Batting: Sarah Taylor 14, Heather Knight 4: England are taking their time. Although another wicket is down the target is just 64 runs away. With the skipper and wicketkeeper-batter in place, England are in safe hands for now.

  • 8:00 PM IST

    NZ W 105/2, 22 Overs, Need 26 to win, Batting: Rachel Priest 52, Katey Martin 22: New Zealand look in a hurry to finish the game and practice for their remaining games. They are just 26 runs away from first victory in the Women’s World Cup. India’s bowling also did not support them in anyway barring Poonam Yadav’s late bliss.

  • 7:32 PM IST

    ENG W 66/1, 11 Overs, Need 90 to win, Batting: Tammy Beaumont 26, Sarah Taylor 0: In this match, the situation is preety similar. The skipper Ranaweera has finally broken the growing partnership between Beaumont and Winfield. The latter has to depart for 35, who was in good stead. Their best batter Sarah Taylor has made way to the crease.

  • 7:30 PM IST

    NZ W 73/0, 14 Overs, Need 58 to win, Batting: Rachel Priest 42: After building a 72-run stand, India finally find a breakthrough. Poonam Yadav does the trick for India. New Zealand, however, have their hard-hitter Rachel Priest who also has hit a six. But with just 58 runs required at a run rate of 1.62, they can just handle the task with singles. Poonam is on a roll with second wicket of Satterthwaite.

  • 7:14 PM IST

    ENG W 31/0, 6 Overs, Need 125 to win, Batting: Tammy Beaumont 10, Lauren Winfield 18: The openers are doing a great job for England as well with already 27 runs on board. Sri Lanka who posted a competitive total despite fall of wickets are struggling to defend their total.

  • 7:08 PM IST

    NZ W 31/0, 8 Overs, Need 100 to win, Batting: Suzie Bates 11, Rachel Priest 19: The New Zealand innings have begun and they have kept themselves under comfortable position after 8 overs. With just 100 to win, Bates and Rachel have built 31-run stand already with 5 fours. Jhulan and Bisht are trying their best to get a wicket here but none that is bearing a fruit.

  • 6:07 PM IST

    IND W 130, 45.1 overs, Batting: Mona Meshram 30: India have also come to an end of their innings as Bates gets her first. Bisht who provided complete support to Meshram goes for 6. New Zealand need 131 to win.

India Women are coming with victory against South Africa in quadrangular series © Getty Images
India Women are coming with victory against South Africa in quadrangular series © Getty Images

After the men have showcased their talent in ICC Champions Trophy 2017, it is now over to the women to fight for the coveted trophy. Good Morning/ Afternoon and welcome to the live coverage of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 warm-up games. These warm-ups will take place between India-New Zealand and England-Sri Lanka. The matches are being held at Chesterfield and Derby respectively. The main tournament will flag off from June 24 and the final will be held at Lord’s on July 23. The tournament will be held in four venues at Derby, Grace Road in Leicester and Taunton. India heads into the Women’s World Cup in good stead after beating South Africa in the Quadrangular Series at the Protea backyard. 

India won comfortably by 8 wickets thanks to an unbeaten 127-run stand between Punam Raut and skipper Mithali Raj. Earlier, Deepti Sharma and Jhulan Goswami had attained world records. Deepti and Punam put on a world record 320-run opening partnership, the first 300-run stand by any pair in women’s cricket. Jhulan, on the other hand, became the record wicket-taker in women’s ODIs when she went past Australia’s Cathryn Fitzpatrick’s previous best of 180 wickets. Jhulan ended with tally of 185 wickets from 155 ODIs with an average of 21.70 and maintained her third rank among bowlers.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka’s Shashikala Siriwardene, who has not played international cricket since the ICC Women’s World T20 2016 in India due to injury, returned to the squad. Inoka Ranaweera, who was the captain when Sri Lanka finished third in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier earlier this year, has been retained as skipper.Ama Kanchana, the right-arm medium pacer, and Chandima Gunaratne, the left-hand batter and left-arm spinner, also returned to the squad.

For England, Sarah Taylor who had taken indefinite break after the T20 World Cup due to anxiety returns to the squad. From Australia’s Meg Lanning to England skipper Heather Knight are looking forward to her services for the side.

The breakthrough season continues for 16-year-old Wellington leg-spinner Amelia Kerr; poised to become New Zealand’s youngest representative at a Cricket World Cup. Suzie Bates, who in 2016 became the first player to win both the ICC Women’s ODI and T20I Player of the Year awards in the same year, will captain the side in her third 50-over World Cup.


India Women: Deepti Sharma, Poonam Raut, Mona Meshram, Mithali Raj (c), Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Sushma Verma (wk), Shikha Pandey, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Nuzhat Parween, Smriti Mandhana

New Zealand Women: Suzie Bates (c), Rachel Priest (wk), Amy Satterthwaite, Katey Martin, Katie Perkins, Anna Peterson, Erin Bermingham, Lea Tahuhu, Amelia Kerr, Holly Huddleston, Thamsyn Newton, Sophie Devine, Maddy Green, Hannah Rowe, Leigh Kasperek

England Women: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Sarah Taylor (wk), Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Beth Langston, Laura Marsh, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt
Sri Lanka Women: Nipuni Hansika, Chamari Atapattu, Hasini Perera, Prasadani Weerakkody (wk), Inoka Ranaweera (c), Chandima Gunaratne, Ama Kanchana, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Harshitha Madavi, Dilani Manodara, Chamari Polgampola, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Shashikala Siriwardene, Sripali Weerakkody