Steven Smith was appointed the captain of Australia in place of Michael Clarke © Getty Images
Steven Smith (above) was appointed captain of Australia in place of Michael Clarke © Getty Images

Dec 17, 2014

Australia and India meet on the first day of the second Test at the Gabba in Brisbane on Wednesday. Australia are currently 1-0 up in the series after beating the tourists by 48 runs in the first Test. Both teams have a new set of captains for the second Test, with Virat Kohli and Michael Clarke being replaced by MS Dhoni and Steven Smith respectively for India and Australia.

India’s main headache will be in terms of selection. While the batting order is likely to remain the same — with the inclusion of Dhoni in place of Wriddhiman Saha — it is the bowling attack that will surely be tweaked. Karn Sharma was far from impressive on his debut and is likely to make way either for an extra seamer or another spinner.

India might want the services of Umesh Yadav, though whether he will come in at the cost of one of the three pacers used in the first Test remains to be seen. India could also risk going in with five bowlers, with Dhoni coming in at No. 6 and Ravichandran Ashwin or Ravindra Jadeja at No. 7, though it would be prudent to include the extra batsman given the frailty shown in the second innings at Adelaide.


Australia (Team): David Warner, Chris Rogers, Steven Smith (c), Shane Watson, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin (wk), Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

India: MS Dhoni (c&wk), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha(wk), Karn Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Varun Aaron, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhawal Kulkarni, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina.

Catch the Live Scorecard and ball by ball commentary of the second Test between India and Australia

Catch the Live Blog of the second Test between Australia and India