Live Updates

  • 8:38 AM IST

    Follow the live updates of the final day on your Day 5 blog.

  • 6:16 PM IST

  • 4:47 PM IST

    Another good day’s play. All the three sessions were won by India. Saurashtra boys — Jadeja and Pujara are winning it for India. Saha says the way Pujara batted he felt sorry for the opposition. He hopes the wicket turns more.

  • 4:37 PM IST

    BOWLED! Jadeja gets another wicket. This is a Man of the Match performance. Lyon is cleaned up with a beauty. Sharp turn, beats the edge and bowled.

    OUT! Nathan Lyon b Ravindra Jadeja 2 (7)
  • 4:33 PM IST
    Here it is:

  • 4:33 PM IST
    That wasn’t required, really!

  • 4:29 PM IST

    BOWLED! Jadeja cleans-up Warner. The ball implodes off the rough. Comes in and uproots the stump. His poor run continues. Kohli points to his shoulder to give him a send-off. Not needed, really.

    OUT! David Warner b Ravindra Jadeja 14 (16)
  • 4:26 PM IST

  • 4:24 PM IST

    Renshaw is living there dangerously. Jadeja is getting sharp turn off the surface. A maiden over from Jadeja. The ball is shooting off the patch for Jadeja.

  • 4:21 PM IST

    A bat-pad for Warner and it lobs to a safe zone. Ashwin beats Warner with the flight but he has played it over mid-off for a boundary. An interesting battle going on. Now huge appeal for a LBW. Would have gone on to miss the leg-stump. An interesting over end. Five overs to go.

  • 4:18 PM IST

    Not enough turn there. 4 from the Jadeja-over.

    Stat alert – 210 is the most overs faced by India against Australia in an innings since Adelaide (202) in December 1985.
  • 4:14 PM IST

    Warner looks to cut the first two balls, does not get the gap. Ashwin-Warner battle continues. A mini-appeal there. An inside edge on to the pad. Fourth ball. Poor one. Lot of width on offer and Warner slams it to the point fence. If Warner gets a start, fortunes can change for Australia. Can Ashwin get him for the 10th time in Test cricket? The last ball is again dispatched to the boundary.

  • 4:12 PM IST

    Ashwin to open the bowling for India. Crucial 8 overs for Australia. Warner is on strike. We can hear a pumped-up Saha behind the stumps. Love the energy with Kohli on the ground.

  • 4:08 PM IST
    5 wickets. A quick 50. And don’t we all love this Rajput Warrior celebration?

  • 4:07 PM IST

  • 4:06 PM IST

    The rollers are on the pitch. Can Ashwin-Jadeja win it from here?

  • 4:03 PM IST

    Cummins strays down the legs and Jadeja clips it down the leg for another boundary. 600 up for India. Kohli declares. India lead by 152.

  • 4:00 PM IST

    Down the wicket and he drives past long-off and that’s Jadeja’s fifty, followed by the Rajput-style sword celebration.

  • 3:55 PM IST

    Umesh looks to play over in-field and finds David Warner at mid-on. Good catch. O’Keefe gets his third wicket. Important contribution from Umesh there.

    OUT! Umesh Yadav c David Warner b Steve O’Keefe 16 (33)
  • 3:53 PM IST

    Thick edge from Umesh and flies past the gully region for another boundary. Cummins has given 98 runs now. This is frustrating. Jadeja and Umesh have now completed another 50-run stand.

  • 3:50 PM IST

    Meanwhile, Jadeja continues to pile on Australia’s miseries with a six. Now Umesh plays a late cut to Cummins for a boundary. The partnership reaches 49.

  • 3:47 PM IST

    In Colombo, Bangladesh have registered a win in their 100th Test. Their first against Sri Lanka. Their first in the subcontinent outside Bangladesh. What does this mean? My colleague Devarchit says, “Even Bangladesh can win in Sri Lanka but not Australia.” 😀

  • 3:45 PM IST

    That looked plumb! Lyon appeals for pad-first. That looked out. No reviews left. Further agonies for Australia. To add insult to the injury. He smacks a six of the next ball. Next over, Jadeja survives a stumping. Third Umpire called but good presence of mind from Jadeja.

  • 3:37 PM IST

    David Warner is warming up. So we will leg-spin it seems. For the first time, we will see wrist spin? I am excited!

  • 3:35 PM IST

    The last time Australia bowled over 200-plus overs in an innings was against South Africa in Durban, in 1994.

  • 3:32 PM IST
    Pity that left-arm of his

  • 3:27 PM IST

    In the 200th over, A Jadeja boundary saw the lead go past 100. The lead is now 111 and Australia are now even struggling to dismiss Umesh.

  • 3:12 PM IST

  • 3:11 PM IST

    Umesh looks for an ambitious pull. The ball takes an edge and lobs to O’ Keefe at mid-on. Well almost. He pull in a brilliant diving effort and just gets his hand to it. This will go down as a drop.

  • 3:08 PM IST

    That Pujara-wicket was Nathan Lyon first after 75.2 overs, and after 2 weeks.


Hello, good morning and welcome to CricketCountry’s live cricket blog and updates of Day Four’s play of the third Test between India and Australia for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. This is Suvajit Mustafi, and just like the previous three days, I will be bringing you the live cricket scores and updates from the match. This has been an evenly contested Test. While Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins have aided Australia come back strong after the glitch at Bengaluru, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara, Murali Vijay and KL Rahul have been the stars from the Indian camp. Full cricket scorecard: India vs Australia, 3rd Test at Ranchi

At stumps of Day Three, India were 360 for 6, still trailing Australia by 91 runs. Pujara defied a disciplined bowling effort from the Australians to remain unbeaten on 130, and with him at the crease is the gritty Wriddhiman Saha. Batting conditions remained good on Day Three as well, as Pujara and Vijay stitched another hundred-run stand, their sixth this season. Virat Kohli ended speculations by walking out to bat at No. 4. Cummins had the better of him for 6. Even the Indian vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane flopped, letting Cummins dismiss him for 14.

Barring Pujara, the Indian middle-order fumbled again and now the onus lies on Saha, Jadeja, and him to help India gain a lead. If not, then at least get them close to the Australian total. With India batting fourth, every run they get from hereon will be crucial.

A sizeable crowd is expected in Ranchi on Sunday. Icing on the cake could be the presence of MS Dhoni in the stands. The Dhoni-led Jharkhand side were defeated by Bengal in the Vijay Hazare Trophy semi-final on Saturday. The former Indian captain may well visit the ground. All in all, an exciting day awaits us.


India: Virat Kohli (c), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma

Australia: Steven Smith (c), Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Steve O’Keefe, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell