Live cricket score: India vs Australia, 3rd Test at Mohali — Day 2

David Warner and Ed Cowan opened the innings for Australia © PTI

Mohali: Mar 15, 2013

India take on Australia in the third Test match of the Border Gavaskar Trophy at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium in Mohali. After the entire Day One was washed out, the two teams started proceedings half-an-hour early on Day Two to make up for the lost time.

Australia skipper Michael Clarke won the toss and elected to bat first. Brad Haddin comes in place of Matthew Wade, Steven Smith replaces Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell moves out for Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc replaces James Pattinson.

For India, Shikhar Dhawan will be making his Test debut. He received his Test cap from batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar. The match also saw the return of left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who missed out the first two Tests, in place of off-spinner Harbhajan Singh.

India, who have never won more than two Tests in a single series against the team from Down Under, are leading the four-match rubber 2-0 after convincing victories in the last two outings in Chennai and Hyderabad.

The hosts have never been in such an enviable position against Australia.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Australia: Ed Cowan, David Warner, Phil Hughes, Michael Clarke (c), Steven Smith, Moises Henriques, Brad Haddin (wk), Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty.

Catch live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary of Day Two the third Test between India and Australia at Mohali here