Live Cricket Score: India vs Australia, ICC T20 World Cup 2012 Super Eights match at Colombo

Left-arm seamer Mitchell Starc can prove to be a handful but it will be chinaman bowler Brad Hogg who will need to play a big role Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Colombo: Sep 28, 2012

India to battle it out with Australia in the Super Eights clash on Friday at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The comprehensive victory against England and Harbhajan Singh’s brilliant comeback has will have given confidence to the Indian team ahead of the clash against George Bailey’s men who have looked good in both their group league matches against Ireland and West Indies respectively.

While the England match was won with five bowlers, it was more about testing a different combination as the result had no bearing on the Super Eights classification.

The two key batsmen in the Australian set-up are left-handers David Warner and Mike Hussey. The presence of the duo at the top of the order certainly means that Harbhajan’s inclusion is necessary because of his stupendous record against the left-handers.

Ravichandran Ashwin, who was rested against England, will also make a comeback into the playing eleven. The other certainty in the bowling department is Irfan Pathan, who has been providing the team with breakthroughs regularly.

The batting, however, bears a much more settled look with the good news being that Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma are back among runs.

The main threat for India will be all-rounder Shane Watson who in prime form having won back-to-back MoM awards.

Watson has been cleverly used by skipper Bailey as he has proved to be a potent partnership breaker.

The Indian batsmen will need to be careful against Watson. Left-arm seamer Mitchell Starc can prove to be a handful but it will be chinaman bowler Brad Hogg who will need to play a big role.

The only problem for Australia will be its middle-order which hasn’t been tested in the two matches which were single-handedly won by Watson.


India: Gautam Gambhir, Irfan Pathan, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan.

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, Cameron White, George Bailey (c), Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Matthew Wade (wk), Brad Hogg, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc.

Catch the live score & ball-by-ball commentary of the Super Eight clash between India and Australia here

Points Table

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012: Match time table with group details