Live Cricket Score India vs Australia third Test match at WACA, Perth: Day one

All eyes will be once again on Sachin Tendulkar, who is on the brink of hitting his 100th international century Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Perth: Jan 13, 2012

Australian captain Michael Clarke has won toss and asked India to bat first at WACA, Perth in the third Test match.

India will aim to make to make a forceful comeback in the third Test match at Perth after being beaten comprehensively beaten in the first two Tests in the ongoing Test series Down Under.

The experienced Indian batsmen will have to come up with something special on possibly the fastest pitch in the planet at the WACA if they want to salvage some pride battered by the two humiliating losses.

Not a century has yet been hit by any Indian batsman. Except for Sachin Tendulkar, who has been in imperious form in all the four innings he has played, no top order batsman has been among runs with average below 30s.

Tendulkar, who is just one short of his 100th international ton, has scored 226 runs in four innings at an average of 56.50.

Rahul Dravid and Virender Sehwag have just about hundred runs from two Tests. Gambhir, despite his 83 in the second innings at the SCG, has not touched the 100-run mark.

Laxman got 66 runs in one innings yet has only 71 runs from the tour. Like England it appears a collective failure of the batting unit. And, unlike England, even Dravid is struggling.

India, however, can take solace from the pages of history. Contrary to the reputations of its batsmen on faster pitches, India has always done well at the WACA. Indians won the 2007-08 Test even though Australia opted for four quicks in the match.


Australia: David Warner, Ed Cowan, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (c), Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mitchell Starc.

India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni(c&wk), R Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary here