Zaheer Khan will be looking for some early wickets © Getty Images
Zaheer Khan will be looking for some early wickets © Getty Images


Feb 14, 2014


India battle it out against New Zealand in the second Test in Wellington starting on February 14, 2014. This is the final match of the two-match series. India lost the first Test in Auckland by a close margin of 40 runs.


They are yet to win a single match in the tour. India lost the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series 4-0. They tied the third ODI.


MS Dhoni has won the toss and elected to field first. India will be desperate to finally taste success in the series at their final attempt at the Basin Reserve. There was a much improved performance from the Indians in the Tests when compared to the ODIs. Although the beginning of the match was as bad as it got for India. They let New Zealand post 503.


Brendon McCullum top-scored with 224 and Kane Williamson scored 113. Ishant Sharma picked up six wickets. Then on a seemingly good batting track, India were bowled out for 202. Things were looking ominous, but a spirited bowling display helped India bundle New Zealand out for 105.


That gave them a target of 407 runs. They began brightly, but two controversial umpiring decisions went against them and India were bowled out for 366 runs. Shikhar Dhawan top-scored with 115 and Virat Kohli scored 67.




New Zealand: Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Brendon McCullum (c), Tom Latham, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling (wk), Tim Southee, James Neesham, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult.


India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.


Catch Live Score and ball by ball commentary of the second Test between India and New Zealand here