Live Cricket Score IPL 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab, T20 match

Kings XI Punjab tasted their first success in IPL V when they beat Pune at home and skipper Gilchrist would expect his boys to keep doing the good work PTI

By CricketCountry Staff

Kolkata: Apr 15, 2012

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) take on Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the 17th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 in Kolkata.

One change for Kolkata Knight Riders – L balaji goes out Jaidev Unakdat comes in while Kings XI Punjab have two changes in the playing XI. Paul Valthaty goes out and Paras Dogra comes in his place, Bhargav Bhatt comes in for Parwinder Awana.

On a roll after two successive victories, Kolkata Knight Riders would be cautious not to slip at home when they face a resurgent Kings XI Punjab in their IPL V fixture on Sunday.

Knight Riders and Kings XI started their season five campaign in a similar fashion with both the teams suffering two losses in the first two matches before tasting their first success in their respective third game.

While Gautam Gambhir’s boys started the turnaround in Bangalore, Adam Gilchrist-led Kings XI did it at home against Pune Warriors India in their last outing.

With both teams having found the winning mantra after the jittery start, tomorrow’s outcome would be crucial as they will look to outdo each other and avoid another hiccup.

Knight Riders slow bowlers led by Bangladesh’s left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan will once again look to get the most out of the tailor-made condition.

It is the visitors’ ability to adapt against Knight Riders slow bowlers Shakib and Sunil Narine on the difficult Eden surface that would determine the outcome of the match.

Against Rajasthan Royals, Shakib was brilliant with his guile as his three wickets in a crucial stage of the match ensured it a low-scoring affair. The Bangladeshi will once again look to sizzle.


KKR: Jacques Kallis, Manvinder Bisla (wk), Gautam Gambhir (c), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Sunil Narine, Jaidev Unakdat.

KXIP: Adam Gilchrist (c & wk), Paras Dogra, David Hussey, Shaun Marsh, Mandeep Singh, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Harmeet Singh, Praveen Kumar.

Catch the live score & ball-by-ball commentary of the 17th IPL 2012 match here