Live Cricket Score IPL 2012: Pune Warriors India vs Kings XI Punjab in T20 match at Pune

Adam Gilchrist-led Kings XI Punjab will look to notch their first win in this season PTI

By CricketCountry Staff

Pune: Apr 8, 2012

Pune Warriors India (PWI) after their upset win over Mumbai Indians in their tournament-opener will look to continue their winning momentum when they take on Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the fifth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the newly-constructed Subroto Roy Sahara Stadium on Sunday.

The hosts led by Sourav Ganguly, hunted in a pack to defend a small total against Mumbai, but a disappointing show by the batters will particularly be a cause of concern for them.

None of their batsman, except for man-of-the-match Steve Smith and Robin Uthappa, looked comfortable against the likes of Lasith Malinga and Pragyan Ojha. However, they might take heart from the fact that the KXIP doesn’t possess the same quality of attack as the Mumbai Indians did.

The onus will be on the top-order to provide a good start to the Pune innings.

KXIP, on the other hand, looked rusty in their opening encounter against Rajasthan Royals, with almost all their bowlers struggling to find the line and length against Ajinkya Rahane and co.

Praveen Kumar and James Faulkner went for 83 runs in their eight overs and their spinners too were wayward in their line.

The visitors will be particularly concerned about the form of Praveen, who was clobbered all over the park by the Rajasthan batsmen.

In the batting department, the side will want to see their previous edition’s hero, Paul Valthaty to come good against the likes of Ashok Dinda, who shaped Pune’s win with his four-wicket haul in their first match, and Wayne Parnell.


PWI: Sourav Ganguly(c), Jesse Ryder, Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa(w), Callum Ferguson, Marlon Samuels, Steven Smith, Murali Kartik, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Ashish Nehra

KXIP: Adam Gilchrist(w/c), Paul Valthaty, Abhishek Nayar, David Hussey, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Mandeep Singh, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, James Faulkner, Praveen Kumar, Harmeet Singh

Catch the live score & ball-by-ball commentary of PWI vs KXIP IPL 2012 match here