Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the first Group A game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between defending champions Karnataka and Bengal in Bangalore. Bengal will be looking towards the likes of Wriddhiman Saha and Sudip Chatterjee to score big. Karnataka will be banking on Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey’s batting and they will hold the key to Karnataka’s batting in this match. Although Karnataka have won the last two Ranji Trophies back to back still Bengal cannot be taken lightly by them. Read all Ranji Trophy 2015-16 team previews here

Karnataka were not able to win their last match against Assam. They will now look to show better cricket in their second match of Ranji Trophy 2015-16 against Bengal. On the other hand Bengal under the leadership of Manoj Tiwary will look to better their Ranji Trophy record over the years, they would be banking very heavily on the batting of Manoj Tiwary. Karnataka will hope that their key bowlers like Vinay Kumar perform well in the match.

Live cricket scores Bengal 312/9 | Overs 88 | Batting: Ashok Dinda 4(6), Sourav Sarkar 0(0):
Bengal have scored a challenging 312 runs by the end of first day. Sudip Chatterjee and Wriddhiman Saha were their top scorers. For Karnataka, both Vinay Kumar and Sharath HS took three wickets each. Karnataka will be looking to end Bengal’s innings quickly tomorrow morning by taking their last wicket cheaply.

OUT! Veerpratap Singh c Vinay Kumar b Sharath HS 14(17)

Live cricket scores Bengal 295/8 | Overs 86 | Batting: Ashok Dinda 0(4), Veerpratap Singh 2(7):
Sudip Chatterjee misses out on a 150 and gets out on 145. He was not able to judge a delivery bowled by HS Sharath, slip fielder Samarth R makes no mistake.

OUT! Sudip Chatterjee c Samarth R b Sharath HS 145(247)

Live cricket scores Bengal 289/7 | Overs 81 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 141(228), Veerpratap Singh 0(0):
Sudip Chatterjee is running out of partners, if he wants to take Bengal beyond 350 he needs support from the other end.

OUT! Pragyan Ojha b Vinay Kumar 5(35)

Live cricket scores Bengal 289/6 | Overs 80 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 141(228), Pragyan Ojha 5(34):
Sudip Chatterjee is batting well on 141. Pragyan Ojha on the other hand is batting on five. Bengal will be hoping to reach 350.

Live cricket scores Bengal 266/6 | Overs 74 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 127(214), Pragyan Ojha 0(7): Just when it seemed Chatterjee and Shukla had settled down (the pair added 50), Shukla chased a wide one from Abhimanyu Mithun to be caught at slip. An useless stroke, resulting in a crucial wicket. Pragyan Ojha walks out at No. 8, which does not speak very highly of Bengal’s tail…

OUT! Laxmi Ratan Shukla c Manish Pandey b Abhimanyu Mithun 24(36)!

Live cricket scores Bengal 251/5 | Overs 68 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 118(198), Laxmi Shukla 18(18): Wriddhiman Saha got out just 10 runs short of his hundred. However Chatterjee has made his hundred and is currently batting on 118. He has hit 14 fours in his innings so far.

Live cricket scores Bengal 214/5 | Overs 62 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 99(183):  Sudip Chatterjee is just one short of his hundred.

OUT! Wriddhiman Saha c Robin Uthappa b Shreyas Gopal 90(132)!

Live cricket scores Bengal 213/4 | Overs 61 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 97(179), Wriddhiman Saha 90(131): Chatterjee and Saha’s partnership has exceeded more than hundred runs. Chatterjee and Saha have hit 12 and 10 fours so far.

Live cricket scores Bengal 111/4 | Overs 35 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 41(87), Wriddhiman Saha 45(68): Saha hits a huge six and takes his score to 45. Both the batters are well set and on their way to score a good fifty.

Live cricket scores Bengal 104/4 | Overs 33 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 40(83), Wriddhiman Saha 39(60):
It’s good for Bengal that Sudip Chatterjee and Wriddhiman Saha have struck a rapport. Both the batters are approaching their respective fifties. Chatterjee  and Saha have hit four and five fours respectively in their innings so far.

Live cricket scores Bengal 98/4 | Overs 27 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 13(17),Wriddhiman Saha 38(53):
Bengal are just two runs short of hundred. They have lost the key wicket of Manoj Tiwary. The batters on the crease have to start the rebuilding process.

OUT! Manoj Tiwary c Samarth R b Sharath HS 7(21)

Live cricket scores Bengal 31/3 | Overs 8.3 | Batting: Sudip Chatterjee 13(17), Manoj Tiwary 1(2):
Karnataka in a lethal spell of fast bowling have got Bengal firmly in their grip. Bengal are three down for just 31 runs.

OUT! Naved Ahmad c Uthappa b Vinay Kumar 3 (13), Abhishek Das c Gautam b Vinay Kumar 6(13), Shreevats Goswami run out Vinay Kumar 2(8)

Toss: Karnataka, who chose to Field

Playing XI:-

Karnataka: Vinay Kumar R (C), Robin Uthappa (W), Karun Nair, Manish Pandey, Mithun A, Sharath H S, Shreyas Gopal, C M Gautam, Suchith J, Shishir Bhavane, Samarth R

Bengal: Sudip Chatterjee, Manoj Tiwary (C), Wriddhiman Saha (W), Laxmi Shukla, Ashoke Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Sourav Sarkar, Shreevats Goswami, Veerpratap Singh, Abhisek Das, Naved Ahmad


Bengal: Manoj Tiwary (c), Shreevats Goswami (wk), Wriddhiman Saha, Manoj Tiwary, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Sudip Chatterjee, Writtick Chatterjee, Writam Porel, Amir Gani, Pragyan Ojha, Veer Pratap Singh, Ashok Dinda, Sourav Sarkar, Mohammad Shami, Pankaj Shaw

Karnataka: R Vinay Kumar (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), CM Gautam (wk), Abhimanyu Mithun, Sreenath Aravind, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, KL Rahul (wk), Shreyas Gopal, HS Sharath, Shishir Bhavane, Ravikumar Samarth.