Vinay Kumar (Right) rattles Mumbai batting with a brilliant spell © PTI
Vinay Kumar (Right) rattles Mumbai batting with a brilliant spell © PTI

(Can Mumbai go past defending champions Karnataka in the first semifinal of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15? Catch Live Cricket Score of the 1st Semi-final of the Ranji  Trophy 2014-15 between Karnataka and Mumbai here)


Live Score at Stumps on Day 1:

Karnataka 10/2

Mithun A 4 (2), Samarth R 33 (75)

K L Rahul c A P Tare b B S Sandhu 2 (9)

Robin Uthappa c Wilkin Mota b Shardul 4 (10)

READ: Day One Report here

Mumabi 44

B S Sandhu 0 (7) Abhishek Nayar (Absent Hurt)

Surya Kumar Yadav c Aakash Rawat b Arvind Sreenath 12 (34)

Harmeet Singh lbw Arvind Sreenath 0 (3)

Shardul Thakur ct K L Rahul b Vinay Kumar R 6 (6)

Wilkin Mota lbw Vinay Kumar 0 (1)

Nikhil Patil ct Manish Pandey b Vinay Kumar R 2 (4)

SD Lad c Shreyas Gopal b Vinay Kumar R 0 (1)

Aditya Tare c C M Gautam b Vinay Kumar R 9 (19)

Shreyas Iyer lbw Mithun A 15 (15)

Akhil Herwadkar lbw Vinay Kumar R 0 (2)



Stats: Mumbai’s lowest ever total is 42, against Gujarat in 1977-78 at Valsad

READ: Karnataka all-out for 202 against Mumbai in Ranji Trophy 2014-15 1st Semi-final at Bangalore

Karnataka 202

Karun Nair 49 (86)

Arvind Sreenath ct A P Tare b Wilkin Mota 2 (5)

Vinay Kumar Run Out Shreyas Iyer 17 (17)

Shreyas Gopal c A P Tare b B S Sandhu 0 (1)

CM Gautam lbw Abhishek Nayar 4 (32)

Kunal Kapoor b Shardul 0 (9)

Manish Pandey lbw Shardul 34 (74)

Robin Uthappa c Surya Kumar Yadav b Wilkin Mota 68 (100)

Samarth R Run Out Akhil Herwadkar 3 (18)

KL Rahul ct B S Sandhu b Shardul 15 (17)

Shardul Thakur brought Mumbai back with two quick wickets against Karnataka. He got rid of Manish Pandey and Kunal Kapoor in quick succession. Earlier At the start of the innings, the hosts, Karnataka lost the important wicket of KL Rahul. Soon after Samarth R also got run-out. But after those two wickets Robin Uthappa and Pandey recused the team somewhat with a 81-run partnership for the third wicket. Uthappa played an aggressive innings and reached his half century, whereas Pandey played carefully. After the fall of Uthappa’s wicket, Karun Nair joined Pandey at the crease.

Quote: “Our motto is to win the game. We r still a very young side, so the entire pressure is on Karnataka” — Aditya Tare, Mumbai captain




Toss Update:

Karnataka win toss and decide to bat first.


Karnataka: Vinay Kumar R (C),C M Gautam (wk), Robin Uthappa, K L Rahul, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Kunal Kapoor, Samarth R, Mithun A, Shreyas Gopal, Arvind Sreenath

Mumbai:  Aditya Tare (c & wk), Abhishek Nayar, Surya Kumar Yadav, S D Lad, Akhil Herwadkar, Shreyas Iyer, Nikhil A Patil, Shardul Thakur, B S Sandhu, Wilkin Mota, Harmeet Singh

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of of the first semi-final of Ranji Trophy 2014-15 between Karnataka and Mumbai at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. We will be bringing all the updates of this knock-out game here.

According to PTI, an exciting battle is on cards when a resurgent Mumbai lock horns with defending champions Karnataka in the Ranji Trophy semifinal match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on February 25. Sworn enemies on the cricket field, both captains Aditya Tare and R Vinay Kumar, will not spare an inch to each other.

Karnataka have been unbeaten for last two years. They lost their last match against Odisha in November 2012. They have been on a roll this season also, barring a couple of hiccups when they conceded first innings lead to Mumbai at Wankhede Stadium and Baroda in Mysuru. The hosts have rolled over all their rivals to notch up four outright wins from seven games so far.

They have five batsmen who have amassed over 400 runs, including newly India-capped opener K L Rahul who comes into this game after scoring a marathon 337 against Uttar Pradesh in Bengaluru. Apart from KL Rahul, others who have topped the 400-mark are all rounder Shreyas Gopal (558 runs), Robin Uthappa (517), Manish Pandey (447) and C M Gautam (400).

Mumbai’s batting has slowly but surely improved and the mainstays have been Shreyas Iyer and Surya Kumar Yadav, who have cracked two tons this season. Iyer has scored 744 runs, which also forced IPL team owners to take note of his performance, and he was bought by Delhi Daredevils for Rs 2.6 crore in players’ auction, thus becoming the highest-earning uncapped player, earning 26 times his base price of Rs 10 lakh.

Tare also has a ton behind him against Baroda, which should stand him in good stead after taking over captaincy. Tare said most of the times the team miss the services of Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane because of national duties, even though the replacements come up with fine performances with the kind of professional culture Mumbai boasts of.