Manoj Tiwary will lead the Rest of India side against a rampant Karnataka team © Getty Images
Manoj Tiwary will lead the Rest of India side against a rampant Karnataka team © Getty Images

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of the Irani Cup 2014-15 match between Karnataka, the champions of the Ranji Trophy and the Rest of India team.

TOSS: Rest of India (ROI) won the toss and elected to field against Karnataka in the Irani Cup 2014-15 match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Tuesday. Karnataka vs Rest Of India: Live Blog, Day 2

ROI 20/1

Parash Dogra 4 (10) Jiwanjot Singh 16 (19)

Unmukt Chand b Vinay Kumar 0 (1)

Karnataka: 244

H S Sharath 0

Abhimnayu Mithun lbw Varun Aaron 11 (34)

Arvind Sreenath c Naman Ojha b Pragyan Ojha 2 (2)

Shreyas Gopal LBW Pragyan Ojha 5 (29)

Vinay Kumar LBW Varun Aaron 6 (4)

Karun Nair c Unmukt Chand b Varun Aaron 59 (99)

Abhishek Reddy c Naman Ojha b Shardul 54 (87)

Mayank Agarwal c Naman Ojha b Varun Aaron 68 (119)

Manish Pandey c Naman Ojha b Varun Aaron 3 (30)

Ravikumar Samarth c Naman Ojha b Rishi Dhawan 20 (37)

Robin Uthappa c Naman Ojha b Varun Aaron 10 (22)


The Rest of India team will be captained by Bengal cricketer Manoj Tiwary. The likes of Robin Uthappa and Kedar Jadhav will be eying to resurrect their international careers, before embarking on high-octane Indian Premier League (IPL) contest, when Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka and Rest of India (ROI) lock horns in the Irani Cup, PTI reported.

Karnataka’s Uthappa, who closely missed the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 bus in spite of scoring heavily this domestic season, would like to continue with his form and make a statement to the selectors. He scored 912 runs in 19 innings at an average of 50.66 per innings, topping the Ranji batting charts.

Not far behind would be ROI’s Jadhav, who will also be looking to impress the national selectors. In fact, more than Uthappa, the Maharashtra batsman would be eager to perform as he did not have a satisfactory domestic season this year.

Last season Jadhav was the highest scorer with 1,223 runs that helped Maharashtra reach to the final. But this year he cracked just one ton during his team’s semifinal journey. A solid knock against the Karnataka pace trio of Abhimanyu Mithun, R Vinay Kumar and Sreenath Aravind will boost Jadhav’s confidence and keep him in the selection fray.